Copenhagen, 16 December 2009
Logo of the Folketing
Organized jointly by the Inter-Parliamentary Union and the Danish Folketing

The fifteenth session of the Conference of the Parties to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) will take place in Copenhagen, from 7 to 18 December 2009. This event, commonly known as COP15, is expected to adopt a new international agreement to replace the Kyoto Protocol, set to expire in 2012. The IPU and the Danish Folketing will jointly organize a Parliamentary Meeting on the occasion of COP15.

The Parliamentary Meeting will take place on Wednesday, 16 December 2009,
on the premises of the Danish Folketing in Copenhagen.

COP15 Logo The Meeting will be held with a view to providing parliamentarians with an opportunity to obtain first-hand information on the main issues and orientations of COP15, to interact with government negotiators directly involved in the Conference decision-making process, gain better knowledge of the recommendations adopted by the IPU with regard to parliamentary action on climate change, and exchange views on parliamentary follow-up to COP15, in particular as regards the ratification process.

The Parliamentary Meeting will be open to all members of parliament who are present in Copenhagen at the time of COP15, are duly accredited to the intergovernmental Conference and have a valid COP15 identity badge. To be registered for the Parliamentary Meeting, delegates are requested to complete the registration form. The form should be returned to the IPU Secretariat in Geneva by 15 November 2009 at the latest.

Due to the limited capacity of the meeting room and a large number of already registered delegates, registration for the Meeting is now definitely closed.

Important notice: The IPU and the Danish Folketing are not in a position to facilitate accreditation to COP15, provide Schengen visa support for entry into Denmark or hotel accommodation in Copenhagen. These matters should be dealt with by each delegation individually, as part of the overall COP15 accreditation procedure.


Updated on 25 January 2010
Report [PDF]New!
"An ambitious agenda for parliamentary action beyond COP15" - IPU statement upon the conclusion of the meeting [PDF]
Closing remarks by Mr. Steen Gade, MP (Denmark) [PDF]
Speech of the IPU President, Dr. Theo-Ben Gurirab, at the opening session [PDF]
Speech of the President of the Danish Folketing, Mr. Thor Pedersen, at the opening session [PDF]
Speech of the President of the Republic of Maldives, Mr. Mohamed Nasheed, at the opening session [PDF]
List of participants [PDF]
Programme [PDF]
Advance information note [PDF]
Invitation [PDF]
Practical Information Note [PDF]
Registration form [Word] [PDF]
Press accreditation form (c/o Danish Folketing) [Word] [PDF]


Resolution on "Climate change, sustainable development models, and renewable energies" adopted by the 120th statutory IPU Assembly (Addis Ababa, 10 April 2009)
United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change
Danish Folketing

Note: Documents in PDF format require Adobe Acrobat Reader Get Acrobat Reader

Updated on 16 December 2009   
08:30 - 18:00 Registration of participants
10:00 - 10:30Opening session
  • Dr. Theo-Ben Gurirab, IPU President
  • Mr. Thor Pedersen, President of the Folketing
  • Mr. Mohamed Nasheed, President of the Republic of Maldives
10:30 - 12:30Interactive panel discussion
The politics of climate legislation
  • Mr. John Prescott, MP (UK), PACE Rapporteur on Climate Change, former Deputy Prime Minister of the United Kingdom
  • Mr. Denis Minev, State Secretary, Amazonas State (Brazil)
  • Mr. James Bacchus, former Member of the US Congress
  • Senator Loren Legarda (Philippines)
12:30 - 13:00 Briefing session
Progress report on COP15 negotiations
  • Mr. Troels Lund Poulsen, Minister of Environment of Denmark
13:00 - 14:30Luncheon reception
14:30 - 15:15Keynote presentation
Reflections on post-Copenhagen agenda
  • Mr. Achim Steiner, Executive Director, United Nations Environment Programme
15:15 - 17:45 Interactive panel discussion
Sharing the responsibility for the future:
parliamentary oversight of government action on climate change
  • Mr. Patrice Martin-Lalande, MP (France), President of the IPU Committee on Sustainable Development, Finance and Trade
  • Ms. Jeanette Fitzsimons, MP (New Zealand)
  • Mr. Eyvind Vesselbo, MP (Denmark)
  • Mr. Saber Chowdhury, MP (Bangladesh)
  • Ms. Makhotso Magdeline Sotyu, MP (South Africa)
17:45 - 18:00Closing session
  • Mr. Steen Gade, MP (Denmark), President of GLOBE Europe

Delegates Senator Legarda (Philippines) President Nasheed (Maldives) Debate

Home page Main areas of activity Structure and functioning Specialized meetingsQuick search