PARLIAMENTARY CONFERENCE ON THE WTO

Organized jointly by the Inter-Parliamentary Union and the European Parliament

Twenty-first session of the Steering Committee

24-25 June 2010, IPU Headquarters, Geneva

STATEMENT

We, parliamentarians from developed and developing countries, members of the Steering Committee of the Parliamentary Conference on the WTO, have gathered in Geneva to review the state of play in the WTO Doha Round.

We have noted with cautious optimism that, while 2009 was characterized by collapsing trade flows, protectionist pressures, falling employment and trade financing difficulties, 2010 will likely present a different scenario, with a rebound of global trade. Convinced of the significance of the role trade can play for the sustainability of the global economic recovery, we believe that substantive progress in the WTO negotiations would send a strong positive signal to the entire world economy.

We reaffirm the key role played by the WTO Aid-for-Trade initiative to help developing countries, particularly LDCs, to build supply-side capacity and trade-related infrastructure. Though Aid for Trade is not a substitute for the Doha Round, we believe that increased and more effective Aid for Trade, with effective monitoring and evaluation, is needed for attaining the overarching objective of poverty eradication in the context of sustainable development and the pursuit of the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs).

As members of parliament with a mandate to oversee and encourage government action in the field of international trade, on the occasion of the G20 Summit in Toronto we reiterate our call on WTO Members to show resolve and do their utmost to find the necessary "extra quantum" in the negotiations to address, as soon as possible, the remaining differences that are impeding the conclusion of the Doha Round.

^{*} Members of the Steering Committee from the following countries, regional parliamentary assemblies and international organizations were present at the session: Belgium, Burkina Faso, Canada, France, Germany, India, Morocco, Namibia, Nigeria, United Kingdom, Uruguay, Commonwealth Parliamentary Association, European Parliament, Inter-Parliamentary Union, and the Secretariat of the World Trade Organization.