Parliamentary Chamber: House of Representatives


<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for FIJI <<<

  House of Representatives

Dates of elections / renewal (from/to):

  23 May 1992
30 May 1992

Purpose of elections:

  Elections were held for all the seats of the House of Representatives provided for in the 1990 Constitution.

Background and outcome of elections:

  The bicameral Parliament elected in April 1987 was dissolved the next month following a military coup d’Etat. After a second coup in September 1987, the 1970 Constitution was formally revoked. In October 1987, the Governor-General, representing the British sovereign, resigned and Fiji became a Republic. In July 1990, a new Constitution was promulgated which provided for a parliamentary form of government and a bicameral legislature, and established a permanent majority of House seats for indigenous Fijians, as mentioned above.

The polling dates were originally set in March 1992. Leading contenders for the 70 House of Representatives seats were the Fijian Political Party (FPP), formed in 1990 by the Great Council of Chiefs, and, for the Indian seats, the National Federation Party (NFP) and the Fiji Labour Party (FLP). The FPP, headed by Major General Sitiveni Rabuka, who had led the May 1987 military coup, accepted multiracialism despite its basic political orientation. The NFP and the FLP had formed a coalition Government following the April 1987 poll.

Final results were announced on 31 May. The FPP won 30 of the 37 ethnic Fijian seats, while the NFP and the trade-union based FLP, led by Mr. Harisa Chandra Sharma and Mr. Mahendra Chaudry, respectively, shared the 27 Indian seats. In return for the FLP’s agreement to participate in the new legislature, the FPP promised a review of the Constitution and other measures, including the rights of the work force.

On 2 June, Gen. Rabuka was appointed Prime Minister by President of the Republic Panaia Ganilau; a coalition (FPP-GVP-Rotuma) 19-member Cabinet was named the following day.

Round no 1 (23 to 30 May 1992): Elections results  
Number of registered electors 275,500 (approx.)

Round no 1: Distribution of seats  
Political Group Total
Fijian Political Party (FPP) 30
National Federation Party (NFP) 14
Fiji Labour Party (FLP) 13
Fijian Nationalist United Front (FNUF) 5
General Voters’ Party (GVP) 5
Independents 2

  Excluding one seat for the representative of Rotuma Island.

<<< Return to the Historical Archive page of parliamentary election results for FIJI <<<

Copyright 1992 Inter-Parliamentary Union