HOME -> PARLINE -> ANDORRA (Consell general)
Print this pagePrint this page
Consell general (General Council)

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name (generic / translated) Consell general / General Council
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 24 April 2005
Purpose of elections Elections were held for all seats in the Parliament on the normal expiry of the members' term of office.
On 2 February 2005, the head of government, Marc Forné Molné, announced legislative elections for 24 April 2005. The campaign of the ruling Liberal Party of Andorra (PLA) was led by former foreign minister, Albert Pintat, as Mr. Molné, who had been the head of government since the resignation of Mr. Ribas Reig in December 1994, was constitutionally barred from standing for a third term.

Before the elections, the PLA held an absolute majority with 15 of the 28 seats. The main centre-left opposition, the Social Democrat Party (PS), held six seats, followed by the centre-right Democratic Party, now known as the Andorran Democratic Centre Party (CDA), with five seats.

For the 2005 elections, two main opposition coalitions were formed. The PS allied with the Democratic Renovation (RD) party and the Group of Ordino Independents (GUPI) as the "Citizens’ alternatives" (L'Altérnativa PS-RD). Another alliance was formed by the CDA with the 21st Century party (CDA-Segle 21). The Green Party also fielded candidates.

Of the 16,000 registered voters, 80.4 per cent cast their ballot, slightly down from 81.6 per cent in the 2001 elections.

The PLA remained the leading party with 14 seats, but lost its absolute majority. The PS-RD alliance obtained 12 seats while the remaining two seats went to the CDA-Segle 21.

Members of parliament were convened on 6 May. On 17 May, they elected Mr. Joan Gabriel Estany as the new speaker (Síndic General). The PLA leader, Mr. Albert Pintat Santolària, was elected as head of government on 27 May, with the support of his party and the CDA-Segle 21.
Voter turnout
Round no 124 April 2005
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
12'880 (80.39%)
Round no 224 April 2005
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
12'879 (80.38%)
- Elections for both constituencies (national and parishes) are held on 24 April 2005.
- The data for the National constituency are indicated under Round 1, and those for the Parish Constituencies appear under Round 2.
- The total number under Round 1 refers to that of the National constituency.
- The grand total for both constituencies is indicated under Round 2 (Total).

Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political Group Candidates Votes %
Liberal Party 14 5'473 46.24
Alternative PS-RD 14 5'235 44.23
CDA-SXXI 8 1'127 9.52
Round no 2
Political Group Candidates Votes %
Social Democrat Party (PS) 14 4'711 38.07
Liberal Party 14 5'100 41.21
CDA-SXXI 14 1'360 10.99
Democratic Renovation Party (RD) 14 772 6.24
Andorran Green Paty (Els Verds) 14 433 3.50
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total National Parishes
Liberal Party 14 0 8
Alternative PS-RD 12 0 6
CDA-SXXI 2 0 0
Round no 2
Political Group Total National Parishes
Social Democrat Party (PS) 6 6
Liberal Party 6 6
Democratic Renovation Party (RD) 0 0
Andorran Green Paty (Els Verds) 0 0
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
21 to 30 years
31 to 40 years
41 to 50 years
51 to 60 years
61 to 70 years
Distribution of seats according to profession
Business/Trade/Industry 12
Legal professions 4
Civil servant 3
Educators 2
Farmers 2
Others 2
Engineers 1
Medical professions 1
Architects 1
- The Social Democrat Party (PS) and the Democratic Renovation Party (RD) presented separate candidate lists for the national constituency.
- The PS and the RD presented a unified candidate list for Parish constituencies under the name "Alternative PS-RD".
- The Andorran Democratic Center Party (CDA) was formerly known as Democratic Party.

Nine women were elected. On 8 June 2005, Mrs. Montserrat Gil Torné was designated as Minister of Health, Social and Family Affairs, and henceforth ceased being a member of the parliament of Andorra, in conformity with Article 78 of the Constitution and Rule 11 of the parliament's rules of procedure.

- Consell General (25.04.2005, 13.02.2008)
- Government of Andorra (http://www.eleccions.ad/2005/Resultats/electes.html)
- IPU Group of Andorra (07.06.2005)

Copyright 1996-2008 Inter-Parliamentary Union