précédent suivant Other issues
of the Review

World of Parliaments
Technical cooperation update


IPU supports plans to mark the International Day of Democracy

The Parliament of Cambodia celebrated the International Day of Democracy On the occasion of the 2nd International Day of Democracy on 15 September 2009, a seminar was organized by the Cambodian Parliament, with support from UNDP and the IPU at the National Assembly in Phnom Penh. Mr. Heng Samrin, President of the National Assembly, said, “This year marks the sixteenth anniversary of Cambodian democracy under the new Constitution declared in 1993. We have come a long way in developing our democratic institutions, and look forward to working with the international community in future to continue that development.” The seminar attracted about 200 guests, including representatives from parliament, government, civil society and the international community.


Democratic Republic of the Congo

The IPU continues to provide support to the parliament

In the framework of the partnership agreement signed in May 2009 with the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) to provide support to the national and provincial assemblies of the Democratic Republic of the Congo, the IPU organized a series of activities this year, including an organizational audit of the parliament in June, a training course on legislative research techniques and drawing up topical dossiers in September, a training session for committee and plenary advisers in October and a technical evaluation of methods of transcribing parliamentary proceedings in November. December sessions will be dedicated to identifying priorities for 2010 and drawing up a work plan.


Parliaments and the International Day of Democracy

Stamp issued by the Uruguayan Post, in cooperation with the Parliament of UruguayThe parliaments of the following countries have organized events to commemorate the International Day of Democracy on 15 September:

Algeria, Andorra, Armenia, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Belarus, Bhutan, Botswana, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Croatia, Czech Republic, Egypt, Ethiopia, Finland, Georgia, Greece, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Latvia, Lebanon, Luxembourg, Mexico, Mongolia, Namibia, Nepal, Palau, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Romania, Serbia, Switzerland, Thailand, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay and Zambia.

See list of events on our dedicated web page