HOME -> PARLINE -> KUWAIT (Majles Al-Ommah)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Majles Al-Ommah (National Assembly)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Presidency module

Parliament name (generic / translated) Majles Al-Ommah / National Assembly
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Title Speaker of the National Assembly
Term - duration: 4 years (term of House)
- reasons for interruption of the term: resignation, death, dissolution of Parliament, or expiry of the membership for any reason
Appointment - elected by all Members of the Assembly
- election held at the first meeting of the new Assembly
- after the Members'mandates are validated, and after Members are sworn in
Eligibility - any Members of the Assembly can be candidate
- notification of candidatures at the first sitting of the newly elected Assembly
Voting system - formal vote by secret ballot
- absolute majority in the first round, relative majority in the following round
Procedures / results - the oldest Member presides over the Assembly during the voting
- the Secretariat General of the Assembly supervises the voting
- the oldest Member with the assistance of three Members announce the results without any delay
- the results can be challenged
Status - ranks third in the hierachy of the State, after the Emir (Head of State) and the Crown Prince
- represents the Assembly with the public authorities
- represents the Assembly in international bodies
- in the absence of the Speaker, the Deputy Speaker can assume his/her role and functions
Board - the Bureau of the National Assembly comprises the Speaker, the Deputy Speaker, a Parliamentary Secretary, chairmen of the Legislative and Legal Affairs Committees and the Financial and Economic Affairs Committee
- it is a collegiate presidency
Material facilities - remuneration (same as that of Minister)

Organization of parliamentary business - convenes sessions
- establishes and modifies the agenda
- organizes the debates and sets speaking time
- examines the admissibility of bills and amendments
- refers texts to a committee for study
- examines the admissibility of request for setting up committees and/or committees of enquiry, proposes or decides on the setting up of such committees
Chairing of public sittings - can open, adjourn and close sittings
- ensures respect for provisions of the Constitution and Standing Orders
- makes announcements concerning the Assembly
- takes disciplinary measures in the event of disturbance, and lifts such measures
- establishes the list of speakers, gives and withdraws permission to speak
- establishes the order in which amendments are taken up
- calls for a vote, decides how it is to be carried out, verifies the voting procedure and cancels a vote in the event of irregularities
- checks the quorum
- authenticates the records of debates
- interprets the rules or other regulations governing the life of the Assembly
- has discretionary power to give the floor outside the agenda and thus organizes impromptu debates
Special powers - draws the budget of the Assembly and submits it to the Bureau
- recruits, assigns and promotes staff
- appoints the Clerk, after the approval of the Bureau
- supervises the organisation of the services of Parliament, through the Secretariat General
- is responsible for relations with foreign Parliaments
- plays a specific role in the conduct of foreign affairs or defence matters in collaboration with the Executive Power
- is responsible for safety, and in this capacity, can call the police in the event of disturbance in the Chamber
Speaking and voting rights, other functions - takes the floor in legislative debates, as a Member of the Assembly and leaving the presidency chair
- provides guidelines for the interpretation or completion of the text under discussion
- takes part in voting after all Members
- proposes bills or amendments, as a Member of the Assembly
- intervenes in the parliamentary oversight procedure
- appoints the Head of the Audit Bureau
- is consulted by the Head of State prior to the appointment of the Prime Minister

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union