HOME -> PARLINE -> GHANA (Parliament)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name Parliament
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 7 December 2008
Purpose of elections Elections were held for all the seats in Parliament on the normal expiry of the members' term of office.
As in previous years the December 2008 elections were held jointly with presidential elections.

In the last elections held in December 2004 President John Kufuor's New Patriotic Party (NPP) won 122 seats in the 230-member parliament. The National Democratic Congress (NDC) of former President John Rawlings followed with 94 seats. The remainder went to the opposition Convention People's Party (CPP) the People's National Convention (PNC) and one independent candidate. In the presidential elections Mr. Kufuor defeated his long-standing rival Mr. John Atta-Mills (NDC) to win a second term. He was constitutionally barred from seeking a third term in the 2008 elections. The NPP endorsed Mr. Nana Akufo-Addo a former foreign minister as its presidential candidate.

1 060 candidates were vying for parliamentary seats. Once again there was a duel between the NPP and the NDC. Pre-election polls indicated that it would be a close race.

The NPP campaigned on its record of fostering peace in the country and good relations with its neighbours. Its parliamentary candidates promised to provide better infrastructure including roads and more police stations to maintain peace and security. Its presidential candidate Mr. Akufo-Addo promised to bring about a "modern responsible educated nation".

Former President Rawlings (NDC) argued that the country's wealth was being enjoyed by a few members of the government and their families at the expense of the citizens. The former president pointed out that most Ghanaians could not afford to pay school fees or electricity bills. The NDC promised to provide more welfare and more educational facilities. Mr. Atta-Mills once again the NDC presidential candidate pledged to ensure good governance.

The CPP led by Mr. Paa Kwesi Nduom promised to achieve responsible governance and good international relations through self-determination social justice and pan-africanism. It also promised to provide more jobs by establishing a larger number of factories. In November Mr. Nduom announced his intention to run in the presidential race. The PNC led by Mr. Edward Nasigri Mahama pledged to fight corruption in all sectors of the economy.

In the run-up to the elections leaders across the political spectrum called for peaceful and non-violent elections and pledged to do all in their power to achieve this objective.

69.52 per cent of the 12.4 million registered voters turned out at the polls. Apart from a few minor incidents voting was peaceful.

The European Union (EU) the Carter Center and the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) monitored the polls. The EU concluded that the elections took place in "an open transparent and competitive environment". The Carter Center also praised the elections as being "competitive" and "further reinforcing Ghana's democratic tradition". ECOWAS hailed the elections as "peaceful transparent and credible".

The NDC became the largest party winning 114 seats seven more than the NPP. The PNC and the CPP won two seats and one seat respectively. Four independent candidates were elected. Eighteen women were elected. Two seats were undecided as at 10 March 2009.

In the presidential elections no candidate won 50 per cent of votes to be elected in the first round. Run-off elections between Mr. Akufo-Addo (NPP) and Mr. Atta-Mills (NDC) were held on 28 December. Mr. Atta-Mills was elected with 50.23 per cent of the votes.

On 7 January 2009 the newly elected parliament held its first session. A former Supreme Court Judge Ms. Joyce Bamford-Addo was elected as its new Speaker becoming the first woman to assume the post (see note).

After a general election the majority party in consultation with the other parties nominates the Speaker. Ms. Bamford-Addo is not an elected member and will not become a member of parliament.
Voter turnout
Round no 17 December 2008
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
8'671'272 (69.52%)
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total
National Democratic Congress (NDC) 115
New Patriotic Party (NPP) 108
Independents 4
People's National Convention (PNC) 2
Convention People's Party (CPP) 1
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
- http://www.ec.gov.gh/
- Parliament (13.01.2009 17.06.2009 20.08.2009 01.01.2010)

Copyright 1996-2012 Inter-Parliamentary Union