HOME -> PARLINE -> HUNGARY (Orszaggyules)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Orszaggyules (National Assembly)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name (generic / translated) Országgyülés / National Assembly
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 6 April 2014
Purpose of elections The ruling coalition, the Hungarian Civic Union-Christian Democratic People's Party (FIDESZ-KDNP), led by Prime Minister Viktor Orban took 133 seats, securing a two-thirds majority in the new 199-member National Assembly (previously, the National Assembly had 386 seats). The coalition led by the Hungarian Socialist Party (MSZP) took 38 seats, and the far-right Jobbik, 25 seats.

During the election campaign, Prime Minister Orban promised a further reduction in the flat rate of tax from the current 16 per cent. The MSZP, led by Mr. Attila Mesterhazy, proposed to raise income tax for high earners up to 30%. Jobbik, led by Mr. Gabor Vona, also opposed a flat rate tax and pushed for a 5% tax rate on basic products and reduced taxes on families with more than two children. On 5 May, President Janos Ader asked Mr. Orban to form a new government.

The 2014 elections were the first to be held under the new electoral system adopted in November 2012. A first-past-the post system replaced the previous two-round system for the 106 seats elected by majority vote. The remaining 93 seats are elected under the proportional representation system using party lists.

In 2014, Hungarians citizens abroad were allowed to vote for the party lists for the first time. In May 2010 the National Assembly modified the law on Hungarian citizenship and introduced a simplified naturalization procedure for people with Hungarian origin and knowledge of the Hungarian language. Most of them live in territories that Hungary lost after World War I under the Trianon Treaty of 1920. Some 550,000 people with Hungarian origin obtained Hungarian citizenship prior to the 2014 elections, of whom nearly 200,000 registered to vote in the 2014 elections.
Date of previous elections: 11 & 25 April 2010

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: N/A

Timing of election: Upon normal expiry

Expected date of next elections: April 2014

Number of seats at stake: 199 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: 1,531 (1,136 men,395 women) under the majority system and 1,706 (1,276 men, 430 women) under the proportional representation system (national lists)*
*875 candidates, including 189 women, ran under both systems.

Percentage of women candidates: 25.8% for the majority system and 25.2% under the proportional representation system

Number of parties contesting the election: 54 parties or coalitions for the proportional representation system. In addition, there were 13 lists representing minorities.

Number of parties winning seats: 4 (2 coalitions and 2 parties)

Alternation of power: No

Number of parties in government: 2

Names of parties in government: Hungarian Civic Union (FIDESZ) and Christian Democratic People's Party (KDNP)

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 6 May 2014

Name of the new Speaker: Mr. László Kövér (FIDESZ)
Voter turnout
Round no 16 April 2014
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
4'967'881 (61.73%)

Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total Single-member seats Proportional
Hungarian Civic Union-Christian Democratic People's Party (FIDESZ-KDNP) 133 96 37
Movement for a Better Hungary (Jobbik) 23 0 23
Politics Can Be Different (LMP) 5 0 5
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
National Assembly (07.05.2014, 17.06.2014, 26.06.2014, 01.01.2015)
National Election Office: 30.05.2014

MSZP-EGYÜTT-DK-PM-MLP comprised the Hungarian Socialist Party (MSZP), the Together-Party for a New Era (Együtt 2014), the Democratic Coalition (DK), the Dialogue for Hungary (PM) and the Hungarian Liberal Party (MLP).

The following parliamentary groups were present in the National Assembly at the first session on 6 May 2014:
- FIDESZ: 117 members (8 women)
- KDNP: 16 members (1 woman)
- MSZP: 29 members (4 women)
- Jobbik: 23 members (2 women)
- LMP: 5 members (2 women)
- Independent: 9 members (2 women)

Copyright 1996-2013 Inter-Parliamentary Union