Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Mazhilis (House of Representatives)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name (generic / translated) Parlament / Parliament
Structure of parliament Bicameral
Chamber name (generic / translated) Mazhilis / House of Representatives
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments) Senate
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 18 August 2007
Purpose of elections Elections were held for all the seats in the House of Representatives following premature dissolution of this body on 20 June 2007. Elections to the House of Representatives had previously taken place on 19 September 2004.
President Nazarbayev dissolved the House of Representatives on 20 June and called elections for 19 August more than two years before the official due date in order to implement the May 2007 constitutional amendments concerning the parliament.

These constitutional amendments increased the statutory number of members of the House of Representatives from 77 to 107 and of the Senate from 39 to 47. They introduced a pure proportional representation system using political party lists which in effect prevents independent candidates from running in elections. A 7 per cent threshold was set for parties to gain representation in parliament. Furthermore under the new electoral law members of parliament must resign if they switch political alliances during the legislature. A limit of two consecutive terms was set for the President though this measure will not apply to the incumbent President Nursultan Nazarbayev.

In the previous elections held in 2004 only one opposition candidate Mr. Alikhan Baimenov leader of the Ak Zhol (Democratic Party) was elected. He refused to participate in the legislature until 2006 in protest over the election process. However Mr. Baimenov subsequently declared that he would cooperate with the ruling Republican Party Otan (Fatherland).

In July 2006 the Republican Party Otan (which won 42 seats in the 2004 elections) merged with the Asar Party (four seats) led by President Nazarbayev's daughter Ms. Dariga Nazarbayeva and became the Otan Party. It re-named itself the National Democratic Party "Nur Otan" in early 2007. It was led by President Nazarbayev.

On 11 June 2007 two opposition parties Naghyz Ak Zhol and the Social Democratic Party announced their merger under the name "All National Social Democratic Party" (ANSDP). However on 18 June parliament approved amendments barring parties from forming electoral blocs. The two parties consequently fielded their candidates separately.

In all 377 candidates (including 56 women) from seven political parties contested the 2007 elections. Media speculation focused on whether the opposition parties would gain any seats under the new electoral system.

Nur Otan promised political and ethnic stability and further economic growth. Naghyz Ak Zhol and the Social Democratic Party appealed to the country's new poor who they argued had not benefited from recent reforms. They pledged better distribution of oil dividends and to promote the State language (Kazakh).

Over 68.41 per cent of the 5.7 million registered voters turned out at the polls which were monitored by over 500 international observers including 400 from the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE). The OSCE noted irregularities in vote counting in over 40 percent of the polling stations. It said not all OSCE requirements were met. The OSCE also expressed concern over the seven per cent threshold. An observer mission from the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) said the elections were "free and transparent".

The final results gave Nur Otan over 88 per cent of votes while no opposition parties surpassed the seven per cent threshold. Nur Otan thus took all the 98 directly-elected seats.

Naghyz Ak Zhol and the Social Democratic Party which took respectively 3.27 and 4.62 per cent of the votes condemned the election results insisting they had been manipulated.

Another nine members of the House of Representatives were elected from the Assembly of nations a body appointed by the President comprising the various ethnic groups in Kazakhstan from 15 to 18 August.

On 2 September 2007 the 98 directly-elected members and the nine indirectly-elected members of the House were officially sworn in. They elected Mr. Aslan Mussin (Nur Otan) as the new Speaker.
Voter turnout
Round no 118 August 2007
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
6'082'430 (68.41%)

Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political Group Candidates Votes %
National Democratic Party "Nur Otan" 127 5'247'720 88.41
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total
National Democratic Party "Nur Otan" 98
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
Note on the number of women
Fifteen women were directly elected while two others were indirectly elected

- http://election.kz/portal/page?_pageid=153 1&_dad=portal&_schema=PORTAL
- House of Representatives (29.08.2007 01.01.2010)

Copyright 1996-2012 Inter-Parliamentary Union