HOME -> PARLINE -> LESOTHO (National Assembly)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
National Assembly

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name Parliament
Structure of parliament Bicameral
Chamber name National Assembly
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments) Senate
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 28 February 2015
Purpose of elections No party won an outright majority in the early elections that followed political instability and a coup attempt in August 2014. The Democratic Congress (DC), led by former Prime Minister Pakalitha Bethuel Mosisili, won 47 seats, one more than the All Basotho Convention (ABC), led by Prime Minister Thomas Thobane. The DC - which had ruled the country for 14 years until the 2012 elections - subsequently formed a coalition government comprising seven parties, controlling 66 seats in the 120-member National Assembly. Mr. Mothetjoa Metsing, the outgoing Deputy Prime Minister and leader of the Lesotho Congress for Democracy (LCD) - whose defection from the ABC-led coalition government had preceded the 2014 political crisis - became Deputy Prime Minister in Mr. Mosisili's new government. During the election campaigning, the major issues included fighting against extreme poverty and corruption and forming a stable government to unite the country.

The country had experienced political instability since March 2014. In the 2012 elections, Mr. Mosisili's Democratic Congress (DC) became the largest party but three smaller parties - the ABC, the LCD and the Basotho National Party (BNP) - formed the first ever coalition government in Lesotho. In March 2014, the LCD submitted a motion of no confidence against Prime Minister Thabane. In June, the Prime Minister suspended Parliament in an apparent bid to avoid the no confidence motion. On 30 August, shortly after the Prime Minister dismissed a key ally of Deputy Prime Minister Metsing in the Lesotho Defence Force, soldiers assaulted the Prime Minister's residence The latter temporarily fled to South Africa before returning to Lesotho the following month and resuming the premiership. On 2 October, under the mediation of the Southern African Development Community (SADC), all political parties signed the Maseru Facilitation Declaration. That paved the way for the reconvening of Parliament by King Letsie III on 17 October and holding of early elections in February 2015, instead of 2017.
Date of previous elections: 26 May 2012

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: 5 December 2014

Timing of election: Early elections

Expected date of next elections: February 2020

Number of seats at stake: 120 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: 1,116 (779 men, 337 women)

Percentage of women candidates: 30.2%

Number of parties contesting the election: 23

Number of parties winning seats: 10

Alternation of power: Yes

Number of parties in government: 7

Names of parties in government: Democratic Congress (DC), Lesotho Congress for Democracy (LCD), Popular Front For Democracy (PFD), Basutoland Congress Party (BCP), Lesotho People's Congress (LPC) Marematlou Freedom Party (MFP) and National Independent Party (NIP)

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 10 March 2015

Name of the new Speaker: Ms. Ntlhoi Motsamai (Democratic Congress, DC)
Voter turnout
Round no 128 February 2015
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
563'972 (46.61%)

Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total Majority Proportional
Democratic Congress (DC) 47 37 10
All Basotho Convention (ABC) 46 40 6
Lesotho Congress for Democracy (LCD) 12 2 10
Basotho National Party (BNP) 7 1 6
Popular Front For Democracy (PFD) 2 0 2
Reformed Congress of Lesotho (RCL) 2 0 2
Basutoland Congress Party (BCP) 1 0 1
Lesotho People's Congress (LPC) 1 0 1
Marematlou Freedom Party (MFP) 1 0 1
National Independence Party (NIP) 1 0 1
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
National Assembly (19.03.2015, 09.04.2015)

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union