HOME -> PARLINE -> NAURU (Parliament)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name Parliament
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 24 April 2010
Purpose of elections Elections were held for all the seats in the Parliament following its premature dissolution on 20 March 2010. The elections had previously taken place on 26 April 2008.
The early elections in April 2010 followed a stand-off between pro-government members of parliament supporting President Marcus Stephen and anti-government members including the former Speaker finance and foreign minister Mr. David Adeang. Both groups held nine seats in the 18-member parliament.

The previous election in April 2008 had also been triggered by a political stalemate in the country of 14 000 inhabitants which has had 36 governments since it gained independence from the United Kingdom in 1968. In March 2008 President Stephen had endorsed Mr. Adeang as the Speaker in a bid to reduce the number of opposition votes in parliament (as the Speaker only votes in the event of a tie). Mr. Adeang's decision to suspend all nine pro-government members including President Stephen triggered early elections in April 2008. In these elections all nine pro-government members had retained their seats. Three newly elected members subsequently moved over to the government side giving it 12 of the 18 seats. In late April parliament elected former Speaker Mr. Riddel Akua as its Speaker. Mr. Stephen was re-elected as the country's President.

Mr. Adeang was suspended from the new parliament in July 2009 for making derogatory statements. Between January and February 2010 three members from the government side joined the opposition expressing their general dissatisfaction with the government. Consequently both sides held nine seats each again. In early February Mr. Adeang was allowed to attend parliamentary sessions after submitting a letter of apology. In late February President Stephen survived a vote of no-confidence.

On 27 February 2010 the country's first-ever constitutional referendum failed to obtain the required two-thirds majority. Some opposition members who had voted in favour of the amendments in parliament campaigned against them in the run-up to the referendum.

Shortly after the referendum the opposition members brought another no-confidence motion against the President. The Finance Minister Kieran Keke accused the opposition of political manoeuvring and constant attempts to defeat the government in order to grab power for selfish reasons.

On 16 March President Stephen ordered that parliament be dissolved on 20 March the day when the no-confidence motion was to be debated on the grounds that the opposition was preventing both the government and the parliament from carrying out their duties properly. Speaker Akua resigned and was replaced by Mr. Shadlog Bernicke. On 22 March Acting Speaker Bernicke advised the returning officer to call elections for 24 April 2010 12 months before they were constitutionally due.

In all 86 candidates including all outgoing members contested the 2010 elections. Since there are no political parties in Nauru all candidates stood as independents.

President Stephen urged voters to give him a clear mandate to continue his efforts to rebuild the country. Pro-government members ran on their record. They argued that Nauru's phosphate exports and GDP had increased significantly. Since 2009 electricity has been available 24 hours a day seven days a week for the first time in a decade. The Minister for Commerce Industry and the Environment Mr. Frederick Pitcher pledged to hold another constitutional referendum if the government was returned to office.

Anti-government members argued that those achievements should also be credited to the administration of former president Scotty and Mr. Adeang.

Over 91% of the 5,700 registered voters. The country introduced stringent verification procedures using computers for the first time resulting in a slight delay in announcement of the polling results.

No major international observers monitored the polls. No violent incidents were reported.

The final results gazetted on 26 April showed that all 18 members in the outgoing legislature had been returned resulting in yet another political stalemate. No women were elected.

The newly elected parliament held its first session on 27 April but failed to elect a new Speaker. On 13 May parliament elected Mr. Godfrey Thoma an opposition member as its new Speaker at sixth attempt. However he resigned on 18 May bringing back the country to political deadlock.

An opposition member, Mr. Dominic Tabuna, changed sides and was elected as new Speaker on 1 June. However, he too resigned three days later. After subsequent parliamentary sessions failed to elect a new Speaker, Acting President Stephen declared a state of emergency and dissolved Parliament in view of fresh elections to be held on 19 June, less than two months after the previous elections.
Voter turnout
Round no 124 April 2010
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes

Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
Source: Parliament (03.05.2010)

Copyright 1996-2010 Inter-Parliamentary Union