Print this pagePrint this page
National Assembly
Parliamentary bodies dealing with human rights :
Joint Monitoring Committee on Improvement of Quality of Life and Status of Children, Youth and Disabled Persons

Type of parliamentary body Specialized
Nature Permanent
Related to chambers National Assembly
National Council of Provinces
Date of creation 17 November 1999
Last renewal date
Mandate The function of the Committee is to monitor and evaluate progress with regard to the improvement in the quality of life and status of children, youth and disabled persons in South Africa, with special reference to the government's commitments in respect of any applicable international instruments and to duties and responsibilities in respect of any applicable legislation. It may also put forward recommendations to both or either of the Houses of Parliament.
Membership The Committee consists of 17 members from the National Assembly and nine members from the National Council of Provinces. The Speaker appoints the Assembly members of the Committee on the advice of the parties concerned and the Chairperson of the Council appoints the Council members of the Committee on the advice of the provinces or parties concerned. National Assembly members of the Committee are appointed until the Assembly's term expires. National Council of Provinces members of the Committee are appointed for the term of the legislature they represent. In both cases, the term of a member is up to five years.
Working methods The Committee decides on its own agenda. The Speaker, the Chairperson of the National Council of Provinces or the two Houses by resolution may refer reports related to the subject matter that the Committee is dealing with to the Committee. Committee meetings are public. A question before the Committee is decided when there is agreement among the majority of the members. The Committee may undertake on-site inquiries and summon government officials. It may make recommendations in a report to the National Assembly, the National Council of Provinces or both Houses on any matter. Due to the fact that it is a Committee of Parliament, its decisions do not bind the Executive and cannot be imposed on Government officials. Recommendations, when adopted by either House, are referred to the Executive and implementation or compliance can subsequently be monitored by the Committee. The Committee has the power to summon any person to appear before it to give evidence on oath or affirmation, or to produce documents; receive petitions, representations or submissions from interested persons or institutions; conduct public hearings; permit oral evidence, including evidence on petitions, representations and submissions; determine its own procedure; and meet at a venue determined by it.
Relations with other parliamentary bodies The Committee can confer or meet jointly with other Committees of Parliament when discussing issues of relevance to those Committees. It reports only to the two Houses of Parliament.
Relations with external bodies The Human Rights Commission, Commission for Gender Equality, Commission for the Promotion and Protection of the Rights of Cultural, Religious and Linguistic Communities, Public Prosecutor and National Youth Commission are accountable to Parliament and must report on their activities and the performance of their functions to Parliament at least once a year.
Subjects dealt with Monitoring implementation of issues relating to youth; and facilitating the establishment of a database on child abuse.
Main address Parliament of South Africa
P O Box 15
CAPE TOWN 8000 (South Africa)
Phone ...
Fax ...
E-mail ...
Website http://www.parliament.gov.za
Name Ms. M. H. Bogopane
Notes Chairperson
Address (if different from above)
Phone (+27 21) 403 22 57
Fax (+27 21) 403 39 66
E-mail hbogopane@parliament.gov.za
Name Mr. B. Willem
Notes Deputy Chairperson
Address (if different from above)
Phone (+27 21) 403 86 23
Fax (+27 21) 403 27 25
E-mail bwillem@parliament.gov.za
Name Mr. M. Manele
Notes Committee Clerk
Address (if different from above)
Phone (+27 21) 403 37 49
Fax (+27 21) 403 27 25
E-mail mmanele@parliament.gov.za
web site:

Information on this page was last updated on 11 October 2002
Copyright © 1996-2008 Inter-Parliamentary Union