Print this pagePrint this page
National Assembly
Parliamentary bodies dealing with human rights :
Joint Monitoring Committee on Improvement of Quality of Life and Status of Women

Type of parliamentary body Specialized
Nature Permanent
Related to chambers National Assembly
National Council of Provinces
Date of creation 11 June 1998
Last renewal date
Mandate The following functions have been allocated to the Committee by the Joint Rules of Parliament: the Committee must monitor and evaluate progress with regard to the improvement in the quality of life and status of women in South Africa, with specific reference to the Government's commitments to the Beijing Platform of Action; with regard to the implementation of the Convention on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women; and in respect of any other applicable international instruments. The Committee may make recommendations to both or either of the Houses, or any joint or House committee.
Membership The Committee consists of 17 members from the National Assembly and nine members from the National Council of Provinces. The Speaker appoints the Assembly members of the Committee on the advice of the parties concerned and the Chairperson of the Council appoints the Council members of the Committee on the advice of the provinces or parties concerned. National Assembly members of the Committee are appointed until the Assembly's term expires. Members of the National Council of Provinces on the Committee are appointed for the term of the provincial legislature they represent. In both cases, the term of a member is up to five years.
Working methods The Committee decides on its own agenda. The Speaker, the Chairperson of the National Council of Provinces or the two Houses by resolution may refer reports related to the subject matter that the Committee is dealing with to it. Its meetings are public. A question before the Committee is decided when there is agreement among the majority of the members. It may undertake on-site inquiries and summon government officials. The Committee may make recommendations in a report to the National Assembly, the National Council of Provinces or both Houses on any matter. Due to the fact that it is a committee of Parliament, its decisions do not bind the Executive and cannot be imposed on Government officials. Recommendations, when adopted by either House, are referred to the Executive and implementation or compliance can subsequently be monitored by the Committee. The Committee has the power to summon any person to appear before it to give evidence on oath or affirmation, or to produce documents; receive petitions, representations or submissions from interested persons or institutions; conduct public hearings; permit oral evidence, including evidence on petitions, representations and submissions; determine its own procedure; and meet at a venue determined by it.
Relations with other parliamentary bodies The Committee can confer or meet jointly with other Committees of Parliament when discussing issues of relevance to those Committees. It reports only to the two Houses of Parliament.
Relations with external bodies The Committee is a committee of parliament and therefore it has no formal relationship with the government, the Ombudsman, the National Human Rights Commission or non-governmental organisations except that it may invite these institutions to make submissions on matters before it. It works closely with the Commission on Gender Equality, and the Office on the Status of Women, located in the President's Office.
Subjects dealt with HIV-Aids; violence against women; poverty.
Main address Parliament of South Africa
P O Box 15
CAPE TOWN 8000 (South Africa)
Phone ...
Fax ...
E-mail ...
Website http://www.parliament.gov.za
Name Ms. L. M. T. Xingwana
Notes Chairperson
Address (if different from above)
Phone (+27 21) 403 31 17
Fax (+27 21) 403 20 72
E-mail ...
Name Ms. M. P. Themba
Notes Deputy Chairperson
Address (if different from above)
Phone (+27 21) 403 24 45
Fax (+27 21) 403 27 25
E-mail ...
Name Ms. S. Pauw
Notes Committee Secretary
Address (if different from above)
Phone (+27 21) 403 37 68
Fax (+27 21) 403 27 25
E-mail spauw@parliament.gov.za
web site:

Information on this page was last updated on 2 October 2003
Copyright © 1996-2008 Inter-Parliamentary Union