HOME -> PARLINE -> CAMBODIA (Radhsphea Ney Preah Recheanachakr Kampuchea)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Radhsphea Ney Preah Recheanachakr Kampuchea (National Assembly)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Electoral system module

Parliament name Parliament
Structure of parliament Bicameral
Chamber name (generic / translated) Radhsphea Ney Preah Recheanachakr Kampuchea / National Assembly
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments) Senate
Electoral Law 12 August 1992
Last amendment: 28/10/1997
Mode of designation directly elected 125
Constituencies 21 multi-member constituencies corresponding to the country's provinces.
Voting system Proportional: Closed party-list proportional representation system.
The allocation of seats is effected on the basis of the Hare electoral quotient and remaining seats according to the greatest remainders.
Vacancies arising between general elections are filled by the "next-in-line" candidates of the same party that held the seats in question. Vacancies are not filled in the last six months of the Assembly's term.
Voting is not compulsory.
Voter requirements - age: 18 years
- Cambodian citizenship
Eligibility Qualified electors
- age: 25 years
- Cambodian citizenship
Incompatibilities - any other public function
- membership in other institutions provided for in the Constitution (except when MPs required to serve in the Government)
Candidacy requirements - nomination by duly registered party in the province in which the candidate is a registered voter

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union