HOME -> PARLINE -> MALAYSIA (Dewan Rakyat)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Dewan Rakyat (House of Representatives)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Electoral system module

Parliament name (generic / translated) Parlimen / Parliament
Structure of parliament Bicameral
Chamber name (generic / translated) Dewan Rakyat / House of Representatives
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments) Dewan Negara / Senate
Electoral Law 28 August 1958
Last amendment: 29/10/2003
Mode of designation directly elected 222
other 1
Constituencies 222single-member constituencies.
Voting system Majority: Direct simple majority vote.
Vacancies arising between general elections are filled within 60 days through by-elections.
Voting is not compulsory.
Voter requirements - age: 21 years
- Malaysian citizenship
- residence in the constituency where voting
- disqualifications: insanity, undischarged bankruptcy, imprisonment, sentence of death or imprisonment exceeding 12 months
Eligibility Qualified electors
- age: 21 years
- Malaysian citizenship
- residence in the country
- ineligibility: insanity, allegiance to a foreign State, imprisonment for at least one year or fine of at least RM 2,000.
Incompatibilities Holders of an "office of profit" (i.e., a full-time office in the public services) such as:
- judge of the Federal Court or a High Court
- Auditor-General
- member of the Election Commission
Candidacy requirements - each candidate (party member or independent) must be supported by a proposer and a seconder of same constituency.
- deposit of RM 10,000, reimbursed if the candidate polls more than 1/8 of the total number of votes obtained by all the candidates in the constituency

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union