HOME -> PARLINE -> MONGOLIA (Ulsiin Ih Hural)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Ulsiin Ih Hural (State Great Hural)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Electoral system module

Parliament name (generic / translated) Ulsiin Ih Hural / State Great Hural
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Electoral Law 1 April 1992
Last updated on 5 May 2016
Mode of designation directly elected 76
Constituencies 76 single-member constituencies
Voting system Majority: First Past The Post (FPTP).
Polling only valid if at least 50% of the registered electors have turned out in each constituency.
Vacancies arising between general elections are filled through by-elections.
Voting is not compulsory.
Voter requirements - age: 18 years
- Mongolian citizenship
- residence in Mongolia
- insanity/mental illness
- guardianship/word
- holders of temporary entry permits
- undocumented immigrants
Eligibility - qualified electors
- age: 25 years
- Mongolian citizenship
Ineligibilities: Head of the Election Commission, civil servants.
Incompatibilities - Head of State
- Ministers of State
- Holders of public posts
- Holders of judicial offices (judges)
- Civil servants
- Government advisors
- Head of the Electoral Commission
- Executive of a public (state) corporation
- Staff member of a public (state) corporation
- Members of the armed forces
- Members of the police forces
Candidacy requirements - by officially registered political parties or coalitions
- 20 per cent of candidates of each party/coalition must be women
- support of at least 801 electors of the constituency concerned

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union