Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Senado (Senate)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Electoral system module

Parliament name (generic / translated) Kongreso / Congress
Structure of parliament Bicameral
Chamber name (generic / translated) Senado / Senate
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments) Kapulungan Ng Mga Kinatawan / House of Representatives
Electoral Law 22 July 1985
Last amendment: 06/06/1997
Mode of designation directly elected 24
Constituencies One national constituency; all Senators being elected at-large from the country as a whole.
Voting system Majority: Block vote.
At each election, 12 candidates who obtained the highest number of votes are declared elected.
No Senator may serve for more than two consecutive (six year) terms.
Vacancies arising between general elections are filled through by elections.
Voting is not compulsory.
Voter requirements - age: 18 years
- Philippine citizenship
- residence in the country for at least one year and in home constituency for at least six months immediately preceding election day
- disqualifications: insanity, adjudged incompetence, conviction for crime involving disloyalty to government or against national security

Eligibility Qualified electors
- age: 35 years
- Philippine citizenship by birth
- literacy
- residence in the country for at least two years immediately preceding the poll
- ineligibility: bribery of voters or election officials, terrorist action, exceeding campaign expenses ceiling, prohibited financial dealings
Incompatibilities - any other office or employment in the Government, or any subdivision, agency, or instrumentality thereof, including government-owned or controlled corporations or their subsidiaries
- appointment to office created during Senator's term
Candidacy requirements - candidatures by parties or independents, must be submitted to Commission on Elections at least 90 days before polling

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union