HOME -> PARLINE -> ANTIGUA AND BARBUDA (House of Representatives)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
House of Representatives


Parliament name Parliament
More photos  >>>
Structure of parliament Bicameral
Chamber name House of Representatives
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments) Senate
Affiliation to the IPU
Affiliation date(s)
President Sir Gerald Watt QC (M) 
Notes Elected on 25 June 2014, re-elected on 26 March 2018.
Secretary General Ramona Small  (F) 
Members (statutory / current number) 18 / 18

More statistics  >>>
Women (current number) 2 (11.11%)
Mode of designation directly elected 17
other 1
Notes Other: the Speaker
Term 5 years
Last renewal dates 21 March 2018
(View details)
Address House of Representatives
Parliament Building
Queen Elizabeth Highway
(Export mailing lists)
Phone (1 268) 462 4822
Fax (1 268) 462 6724
E-mail parliament@ab.gov.ag


Parliament name Parliament
Structure of parliament Bicameral
Chamber name House of Representatives
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments) Senate
Electoral law 31 October 1975
Last amendment: Representation of the People (Amendment) Acts of 2001 and 2002.
Mode of designation directly elected 17
other 1
Constituencies 17 single-member constituencies.
Voting system Majority: Simple majority vote.
Vacancies arising between general elections are filled through by-elections held within 120 days of the vacancy.
Voting is not compulsory.
Voter requirements - age: 18 years
- citizens of Antigua and Barbuda
- citizens of the Commonwealth who have legally resided in the country for at least three years immediately preceding the qualifying date and who have met the relevant residency requirements
- residence in the constituency for at least one month immediately preceding the qualifying date.
Eligibility - qualified voters
- age: 21 years
- citizens of Antigua and Barbuda
- residence in the country for a minimum of 12 months immediately preceding the elections
- ability to speak and, unless incapacitated by blindness or other physical condition, to read the English language with sufficient proficiency
- ineligibility: allegiance to a foreign State, undischarged bankruptcy, insanity, death sentence or imprisonment for more than one year, electoral offences or certain crimes within the preceding 10 years
Incompatibilities - certain public offices
- electoral responsibilities
- minister of religion
Candidacy requirements - nomination by individuals or political parties


Parliament name Parliament
Structure of parliament Bicameral
Chamber name House of Representatives
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments) Senate
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 21 March 2018
Timing and scope of renewal Prime Minister Gaston Browne's Antigua and Barbuda Labour Party (ABLP) won a second consecutive election, taking 15 of the 17 seats at stake in the House of Representatives. The Prime Minister's wife, Ms. Maria Bird-Browne - granddaughter of the nation's founding father, Sir Vere Cornwall Bird - was elected to parliament for the first time. At 26, she is the youngest MP in the country's history. On 26 March, Mr. Browne was sworn in for a second term as Prime Minister. The newly appointed 17-member Senate comprises nine women (52.94%) up from 5 (33.33%) in 2014.

The 2018 elections were held 15 months before they were constitutionally due in June 2019. The Prime Minister stated he needed "to provide investors with predictability, to prove stability, to provide continuity". The major parties focused on the economy and the tourism industry. The ABLP ran on the government's record while the main opposition United Progressive Party (UPP), now led by former finance minister Harold Lovell, accused the government of mismanagement.
Date of previous elections: 12 June 2014

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: 26 February 2018

Timing of election: Early elections

Expected date of next elections: March 2023

Number of seats at stake: 17 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: 53

Percentage of women candidates: Not available.

Number of parties contesting the election: 7

Number of parties winning seats: 3

Alternation of power: No

Number of parties in government: 1

Names of parties in government: Antigua and Barbuda Labour Party (ABLP)

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 26 March 2018

Name of the new Speaker: Sir Gerald Watt QC (appointed member)
Voter turnout
Round no 121 March 2018
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
39'120 (76.32%)

Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political group Candidates Votes % of votes
Antigua and Barbuda Labour Party (ABLP)
United Progressive Party (UPP)
Barbuda People's Movement (BPM)
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total of seats
Antigua and Barbuda Labour Party (ABLP) 15
United Progressive Party (UPP) 1
Barbuda People's Movement (BPM) 1
Distribution of seats according to sex


Percent of women


Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
The House of Representatives, elected in March 2018, comprises 18 members in all: 17 directly-elected members, including the Attorney General, and one appointed member, the Speaker.

Parliament (04.04.2018)


Parliament name Parliament
Structure of parliament Bicameral
Chamber name House of Representatives
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments) Senate
Title Speaker of the House of Representatives
Term - duration: 5 years (term of House)
- reasons for interruption of the term: death, loss of citizenship, appointment as Minister or Parliamentary Secretary, loss of parliamentary mandate
Appointment - elected by all the Members of the House
- election is held after a general election or when a vacancy occurs
- after Members are sworn in
Eligibility - any Member of the House (except a Minister or a Parliamentary Secretary) or any person not Member of the House but qualified to be elected as its Speaker may be a candidate
- candidatures have to be submitted at the first meeting of the newly elected House

Voting system - formal vote by secret ballot if there is more than one candidate
- a simple majority?? of the votes cast is required
- if no candidate obtains the required majority, several rounds are held and no new candidates are admitted
Procedures / results - the Clerk presides over the House during the voting
- the Clerk supervises the voting
- the Clerk announces the results without any delay
- the results cannot be challenged
Status - ranks seventh in the hierarchy of State
- the President of the Senate has precedence over the Speaker of the House of Representatives
- the President of the Senate presides over joint sittings of both Houses
- represents the House with the public authorities
- represents the House in international bodies
- in the absence of the Speaker, the Deputy Speaker can assume his/her role and functions
Material facilities - salary of $ 5,000 EC??
- travel allowance of $ 531
- entertainment?? allowance of $ 400
Organization of parliamentary business - The Government organizes debates and the speaking time is set by the Standing Orders
Chairing of public sittings - may suspend sittings for short periods
- ensures respect for provisions of the Constitution and Standing Orders
- makes announcements concerning the House
- takes disciplinary measures in the event of disturbance, and lifts such measures
- can call for a vote
- checks the quorum
- authenticates the adopted texts and the records of debates
- interprets the rules or other regulations governing the life of the Assembly
Special powers - is consulted for the appointment of the Clerk
- is responsible for safety, and in this capacity, can call the police in the event of disturbance in the House
Speaking and voting rights, other functions - takes part in voting if elected to the House by a constituency

This page was last updated on 28 May 2018
Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union