HOME -> PARLINE -> CONGO (Assemblée nationale)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Assemblée nationale (National Assembly)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Electoral system module

Parliament name (generic / translated) Parlement / Parliament
Structure of parliament Bicameral
Chamber name (generic / translated) Assemblée nationale / National Assembly
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments) Sénat / Senate
Electoral Law 22 December 2001
Last amendment: April 2017
Mode of designation directly elected 151
Constituencies 151 single member constituencies.
Voting system Majority: Majority voting in two rounds. A candidate is declared elected if he or she obtains the absolute majority of votes in the first round. In the second round, the candidate receiving the largest number of votes is declared the winner.
Voting is not compulsory.
Voter requirements - age: 18 years;
- Congolese citizenship;
- the voter must have all civil and political rights;
- the voter must be registered on a voting roll of the administrative district of his or her domicile or residence. Congolese citizens living in other countries must be registered on the voting roll of the embassy or consulate of the country of residence.

Persons sentenced to imprisonment, those tried in absentia and un-rehabilitated bankrupt persons whose bankruptcy has been declared
Eligibility - age: 25 years;
- Congolese citizenship;
- residence in the national territory when the candidate lists are presented, except for diplomatic and consular personnel, persons sent by the State to occupy a post or carry out a mission in another country and international civil servants;
- the candidate must have all civil and political rights;
- the candidate must not have been sentenced for crimes or offences.
Incompatibilities - President of the Republic;
- Ombudsman (Médiateur) of the Republic;
- Senator;
- Secretary-General, Director-General or Central Director of the public administration; Treasurer and Paymaster General;
- Magistrates:
- Law enforcement officers;
- Mayors-administrators;
- Prefects and sub-prefects;
- Secretaries-General of territorial collectives;
- Local government authorities;
- Members of the National Election Organizing Commission;
- Members of the Government;
- Members of the Constitutional Court and the Economic and Social Council;
- Members of the High Council on Freedom of Communication;
- Members of the National Human Rights Commission;
- Members of the offices of the President and of government ministers;
- Diplomatic staff.
Candidacy requirements Presentation of candidacy is done by the candidate if standing as an independent, or by the authorized representative of the party or political group to which he or she belongs, at least one month prior to the election.

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union