HOME -> PARLINE -> CZECH REPUBLIC (Poslanecka Snemovna)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Poslanecka Snemovna (Chamber of Deputies)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name (generic / translated) Parlament / Parliament
Structure of parliament Bicameral
Chamber name (generic / translated) Poslanecka Snemovna / Chamber of Deputies
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments) Senat / Senate
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) (from/to)20 October 2017
21 October 2017
Purpose of elections Like the 2013 elections (which led to a three-party coalition government, see note), no party won an outright majority in 2017. Former Finance Minister Andrej Babis' ANO party came first, taking 78 seats in the 200-member Chamber of Deputies. The Civic Democratic Party (ODS, led by Mr. Petr Fiala) came a distant second with 25 seats. Prime Minister Bohuslav Sobotka's Czech Social Democratic Party (CSSD) and another party in the coalition government took 15 seats each. Freedom and Direct Democracy (SPD, led by Mr. Tomio Okamura ) and the Pirate Party (Pirati, led by Mr. Ivan Bartos) entered the Chamber of Deputies for the first time, taking 22 seats each.

On 31 October, Mr. Babis announced that he would form a minority government . Other parties reportedly refused to join the coalition due to allegations that Mr. Babis had illegally received a 2 million euro subsidy from the European Union (EU) before entering politics. Mr. Babis denied any wrongdoing and stated that the charges were politically motivated. On 21 November, the day after newly elected Chamber of Deputies was convened, the State prosecutor's office requested the Chamber of Deputies to lift the immunity of Mr. Babis and ANO deputy Jaroslav Faltynek to allow investigations into EU subsidy fraud. On 6 December, President Milos Zeman appointed Mr. Babis as Prime Minister.

During the election campaign, the major parties focused on tax reform and immigration, and in particular, EU quotas for taking in refugees. ANO promised to crack down on corruption, stop deeper EU integration and reject EU immigration quotas.

Following the 2013 elections, the CSSD, ANO and the Christian Democratic Union-Czech People's party (KDU-CSL) formed a coalition government. In May 2017, Prime Minister Sobotka announced that he would resign along with his Finance Minister Babis, accusing him of tax evasion and other financial improprieties. In late May, President Zeman dismissed Mr. Babis and appointed Mr. Ivan Pilný (ANO) as the new Finance Minister. The three-party coalition remained in place until the 2017 elections.
Date of previous elections: 25 - 26 October 2013

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: N/A*
*The mandate of the outgoing members expired on 26 October 2017.

Timing of election: Upon normal expiry

Expected date of next elections: October 2021

Number of seats at stake: 200 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: 7,524 (5,370 men, 2,154 women)

Percentage of women candidates: 28.63%

Number of parties contesting the election: 31

Number of parties winning seats: 8

Alternation of power: Yes

Number of parties in government: 2

Names of parties in government: ANO, Czech Social Democratic Party (CSSD)

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 20 October 2017

Name of the new Speaker: Mr. Radek Vondracek (ANO)
Voter turnout
Round no 1 (from/to)20 October 2017
21 October 2017
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
5'094'633 (60.84%)

Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political Group Candidates Votes %
Civic Democratic Party (ODS)
Freedom and Direct Democracy (SPD)
Pirate Party (Pirati)
Communist Party of Bohemia and Moravia (KSCM)
Czech Social Democratic Party (CSSD)
Christian Democratic Union - Czechoslovak People's party (KDU - CSL)
Tradition Responsibility Prosperity 09 (TOP 09)
Mayors and independents (STAN)
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total
ANO 78
Civic Democratic Party (ODS) 25
Freedom and Direct Democracy (SPD) 22
Pirate Party (Pirati) 22
Communist Party of Bohemia and Moravia (KSCM) 15
Czech Social Democratic Party (CSSD) 15
Christian Democratic Union - Czechoslovak People's party (KDU - CSL) 10
Tradition Responsibility Prosperity 09 (TOP 09) 7
Mayors and independents (STAN) 6
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
Chamber of Deputies (31.10.2017, 17.07.2018)

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union