HOME -> PARLINE -> DENMARK (Folketinget)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Folketinget (The Danish Parliament)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Electoral system module

Parliament name (generic / translated) Folketinget / Parliament
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Electoral Law 13 May 1987
Last amendment: 10/04/1991
Mode of designation directly elected 179
Constituencies 10 multi-member constituencies corresponding to counties, subdivided into 92 nomination districts.
Voting system Proportional: Proportional representation system according to a modified version of the St. Laguë method and Hare quota and using the method of greatest remainders. Each elector can cast either a "personal vote" for one of the candidates or a vote for one of the party lists. They can vote for any of the candidates or parties of their constituency, not being limited to those of their nomination district.

Of the 175 seats reserved for Denmark proper, 135 seats are distributed among the constituencies. In order to distribute these constituency seats among the political groups in contention, the total vote of each party in a constituency is divided by 1, 3, 5 and so on by odd numbers in order to arrive at the quotients on the basis of which seats are allocated). Utilization of this method ensures representation for smaller parties.

The 40 remaining, or compensatory, seats are then distributed among the parties which either have won at least one constituency seat; have obtained, in two electoral regions, at least as many votes as the average number of valid votes cast in the region, per constituency seat; or have obtained at least 2% of all valid votes cast in the country as a whole. Such distribution, based on votes obtained on the national scale, is aimed at redressing the imbalance caused through the distribution of the constituency seats.

When it has been decided which parties are entitled to a share of the compensatory seats, the number of seats which each party is proportionately entitled to of the 175 seats is calculated on the basis of the total number of votes cast for these parties in all parts of the country. From the number of seats thus arrived at for each party, the number of constituency seats already obtained by the party is deducted. The resulting figure is the number of compensatory seats due to the party.

The end result of this system is a distribution of seats in the Folketing that faithfully reflects the share of the popular votes received by the parties.

Candidates who have been nominated but not elected figure on a list of substitute members drawn up by the Ministry of Interior after each general election. These substitute members fill the seats which become vacant between general elections.
Voting is not compulsory.
Voter requirements - Age: 18 years
- Danish citizenship
- permanent residence in Denmark
- disqualifications: legally declared incompetency
Eligibility Qualified electors
- age: 18 years
- Danish citizenship
Ineligibility: conviction for an act which in the eyes of the public makes the candidate unworthy of being a member of the Folketing.
Incompatibilities (not applicable)
Candidacy requirements - Nomination by party or individuals
- candidatures must be registered at least 11 days prior to polling day
- party lists must be submitted at least 8 days before polling day
- independents need backing of the 150 to 200 electors from their district

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union