HOME -> PARLINE -> DOMINICA (House of Assembly)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
House of Assembly

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name House of Assembly
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 8 December 2014
Purpose of elections The Dominica Labor Party (DLP) led by Prime Minister Roosevelt Skerrit won a fourth consecutive term, including three under his premiership. It took 15 of the 21 directly elected seats in the 32-member House of Assembly (of the remaining eleven members, nine are appointed by the Head of State and two - the Speaker and the Attorney General - are ex-officio). The United Workers' Party (UWP), led by the opposition Lennox Linton, doubled its share to six.

Prime Minister Skerrit called on voters' continuing support, promising to transform the country into a "peaceful and just society". The DLP pledged to reduce the poverty rate from the current 28% to 10-15% by 2020. The UWP leader promised annual economic growth of 5-7% and the creation of 5,000 sustainable jobs within the first three years in office.
Date of previous elections: 18 December 2009

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: 5 November 2014

Timing of election: Upon normal expiry

Expected date of next elections: December 2019

Number of seats at stake: 21 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: 44 (38 men, 6 women)

Percentage of women candidates: 13.6%

Number of parties contesting the election: 2

Number of parties winning seats: 2

Alternation of power: No

Number of parties in government: 1

Names of parties in government: Dominica Labor Party (DLP)

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 20 February 2015

Name of the new Speaker: Ms. Alix Boyd Knights
Voter turnout
Round no 18 December 2014
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
41'560 (57.34%)

Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political Group Candidates Votes %
Dominica Labor Party (DLP)
United Workers' Party (UWP)
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total
Dominica Labor Party (DLP) 15
United Workers' Party (UWP) 6
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
The distribution of seats according to sex above refers to the 21 directly-elected members.
As at 26 January 2015, there were seven women (three directly elected, three appointed and the Speaker) out of a total of 32 members.

House of Assembly (26.01.2015, 01.01.2017)
Electoral Office (20.01.2015)

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union