HOME -> PARLINE -> DOMINICAN REPUBLIC (Cámara de Diputados)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Cámara de Diputados (Chamber of Deputies)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name (generic / translated) Congreso Nacional de la República / National Congress of the Republic
Structure of parliament Bicameral
Chamber name (generic / translated) Cámara de Diputados / Chamber of Deputies
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments) Senado / Senate
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 15 May 2016
Purpose of elections President Danilo Medina, elected in 2012, led the Dominican Liberation Party (PLD) and its allies to a fourth consecutive victory in the 190-member Chamber of Deputies (see note 1) and the 32-member Senate. The Modern Revolutionary Party (PRM), led by Mr. Andrés Bautista García, came second. The PRM was formed in 2014 by members expelled from the Dominican Revolutionary Party (PRD), which was the second largest party in the 2010 elections.

In the presidential elections, the incumbent President (see note 2) defeated Mr. Luis Abinader (PRM). During the election campaign, the major parties focused on measures to counter crime and address illegal immigration.

Note 1:
The May 2010 elections were held for 183 seats in the Chamber of Deputies (up from 178) and 32 seats in the Senate. In accordance with transitional measures in the 2010 Constitution, seven members representing Dominicans abroad were elected in May 2012. The number of members in the Chamber of Deputies has thus increased from 183 to 190.

Note 2:
The 2010 Constitution prohibited consecutive presidential terms. On 12 June 2015, the National Revisory Assembly, composing senators and deputies and tasked with reviewing amendments to the Constitution, adopted constitutional amendments to allow consecutive re-election for the presidency, as was the case before 2010.
Date of previous elections: 16 May 2010

Timing of election: Upon normal expiry*
*Under the new Constitution, which came into effect in January 2010, the statutory term of the Congress of the Republic remains four years. However, those members elected in 2010 served a six-year term in order to synchronize presidential, parliamentary and local elections in 2016.

Expected date of next elections: May 2020

Number of seats at stake: 190 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: 1,423 (863 men, 560 women)

Percentage of women candidates: 39.4%

Number of parties contesting the election: 18

Number of parties winning seats: 10

Alternation of power: No

Number of parties in government: 2

Names of parties in government: Dominican Liberation Party (PLD), Dominican Revolutionary Party (PRD)

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 16 August 2016

Name of the new Speaker: Ms. Lucía Medina Sánchez (Dominican Liberation Party, PLD)
Voter turnout
Round no 115 May 2016
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
4'708'746 (69.6%)

Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political Group Candidates Votes %
Dominican Liberation Party (PLD)
Modern Revolutionary Party (PRM)
Social Christian Reformist Party (PRSC)
Dominican Revolutionary Party (PRD)
Liberal Reformist Party (PLR)
National Alliance (ALPAIS)
Christian People's Party (PPC)
Broad Front (FRENTE)
Quisqueyano Christian Democratic Party (PQDC)
Alternative Democratic Movement (MODA)
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total
Dominican Liberation Party (PLD) 106
Modern Revolutionary Party (PRM) 42
Social Christian Reformist Party (PRSC) 18
Dominican Revolutionary Party (PRD) 16
Liberal Reformist Party (PLR) 3
National Alliance (ALPAIS) 1
Christian People's Party (PPC) 1
Broad Front (FRENTE) 1
Quisqueyano Christian Democratic Party (PQDC) 1
Alternative Democratic Movement (MODA) 1
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
Chamber of Deputies (14.07.2016, 17.08.2016)
Junta Central Electoral (02.06.2016)

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union