HOME -> PARLINE -> GAMBIA (THE) (National Assembly)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
National Assembly

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Electoral system module

Parliament name National Assembly
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Electoral Law 19 April 1996
Mode of designation directly elected 53
appointed 5
Constituencies Seven administrative areas carved up into 53 single-member constituencies.
Voting system Majority: Simple majority vote.
Vacancies arising between general elections are filled through by-elections held within 90 days. No by-elections are held in the last nine months of the Assembly's term.
Voting is not compulsory
Voter requirements - age: 18 years
- Gambian citizenship
- residence or birth in constituency where registered
- disqualifications: allegiance to a foreign State, insanity, sentence of imprisonment, registration as voter in another country
Eligibility Qualified electors
- age: 21 years
- Gambian citizenship
- ordinary residence of at least one year in constituency where running
- declaration of assets to Independent Electoral Commission as required by law
- ability to speak English well enough to take part in the proceedings of the Assembly
- ineligibility: undischarged bankrupts, sentence of death or imprisonment of at least six months (in the preceding 5 years), certain government contractors, electoral offence
Incompatibilities - magistrates and judges
- members of the armed, police or security forces
- members of the Independent Electoral Commission
Candidacy requirements - nomination by at least 300 voters of the same constituency
- monetary deposit of 5,000 dalasis, reimbursed if candidate is successful or obtains at least 20% of the votes cast for the elected candidate

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union