HOME -> PARLINE -> GUATEMALA (Congreso de la República)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Congreso de la República (Congress of the Republic)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Electoral system module

Parliament name (generic / translated) Congreso de la República / Congress of the Republic
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Electoral Law 27 December 1985
Mode of designation directly elected 158
Constituencies - 22 multi-member constituencies corresponding to the country's departments
- 1 multi-member (31 seats) national constituency
Voting system Mixed: Mixed system, with closed party lists:
- majority vote for 127 departmental seats
- proportional representation (d'Hondt method) from a national list for 31 seats
Vacancies arising between general elections are filled by substitutes elected at the same time as titular members.
Voting is not compulsory.
Voter requirements - age: 18 years
- Guatemalan citizenship
- full possession of civil and political rights
- disqualifications: membership of the armed and police forces, imprisonment
Eligibility Qualified electors
- literacy
- ineligibility: close relatives of the President and Vice-President of the Republic, conviction for crime
Incompatibilities - civil servants
- holders of certain public functions
- members of the Supreme Electoral Tribunal or Audit Office
- government contractors
Candidacy requirements - nomination by a legally registered party; in order to secure their legal status, nominating parties must obtain at least 4% of the popular vote

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union