HOME -> PARLINE -> GUINEA (Assemblée nationale)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Assemblée nationale (National Assembly)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Electoral system module

Parliament name (generic / translated) Assemblée nationale / National Assembly
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Electoral Law 23 December 1991
Mode of designation directly elected 114
Constituencies - 38 single-member, corresponding to the country's communes
- nation as whole for remaining 76 members
Voting system Mixed: Mixed system:
- 38 Deputies are elected by simple majority in single-member constituencies
- 76 Deputies are chosen by proportional representation and using a national electoral quotient (votes cast divided by 76) from a national list of candidates.
Seats left unfilled after this process are awarded to those having obtained the most votes.
Voter requirements - age: 18 years
- Guinean citizenship
- full possession of civil and political rights
Eligibility Qualified electors
- age: 18 years
- guinean citizenship (or 10 years after nationalization if residence in country since then)
- ineligibility: guardianship, insanity, conviction of crime or other offence
Incompatibilities - members of the armed forces
- judges
- certain local public officials
- membership of the Economic and Social Council
- all non-elective public functions
- executives of public or State-controlled (firms)
Candidacy requirements - by political parties

Copyright 1996-2013 Inter-Parliamentary Union