HOME -> PARLINE -> GUINEA-BISSAU (Assembleia Nacional Popular)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Assembleia Nacional Popular (People's National Assembly)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name (generic / translated) Assembleia Nacional Popular / People's National Assembly
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 13 April 2014
Purpose of elections The African Party for the Independence of Guinea and Cape Verde (PAIGC) won the first parliamentary elections since the 2012 coup. It took 57 seats in the 102-member People's National Assembly while the Party for Social Renewal (PRS) took 41. Prior to the 2014 elections, the PAIGC elected Mr. Domingos Simões Pereira as its Chairman and candidate for prime minister, and Mr. Jose Mario Vaz - former Finance Minister before the 2012 coup - as its presidential candidate. Mr. Vaz promised to create jobs and revive the economy.

The PRS endorsed Mr. Abel Incada as its presidential candidate. However, the PRS leader and former President, Mr. Kumba Yala, backed Mr. Nuno Gomes Nabiam, a former PRS member who ran as an independent. Mr. Nabiam, who also had support from the army, promised to consolidate peace, national unity, democracy and development. Mr. Yala's death on 4 April briefly suspended the election campaign but presidential and parliamentary polls went ahead on 13 April. None of the 13 presidential candidates secured an absolute majority to be elected in the first round. In the run-off presidential elections held on 18 May, Mr. Vaz defeated Mr. Nabiam.

The country has been in transition since the 2012 coup, which occurred between two rounds of presidential elections. The coup leaders suspended the Constitution, dissolved the People's National Assembly and detained Prime Minister Carlos Gomes Júnior (PAIGC) and the acting President and former Speaker Raimundo Pereira (PAIGC), who were both released in late April that year.

In accordance with a transition pact brokered by the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) in May 2012, the People's National Assembly was reinstated and Mr. Manuel Serifo Nhamadjo (PAIGC) became Acting President of the Republic. The parliamentary term - which was due to end in November 2012 – was extended until the new parliamentary and presidential elections. These were initially expected by May 2013 but were postponed several times to April 2014, due mainly to lack of funds and logistical problems.
Date of previous elections: 16 November 2008

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: N/A

Timing of election: Delayed elections

Expected date of next elections: April 2018

Number of seats at stake: 102 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: Not available.

Percentage of women candidates: Not available.

Number of parties contesting the election: 15

Number of parties winning seats: 5

Alternation of power: Not applicable (transitional government in place after the 2012 coup)

Number of parties in government: 5

Names of parties in government: African Party for the Independence of Guinea and Cape Verde (PAIGC), Party for Social Renovation (PRS), Democratic Convergence Party (PCD), Union for Change (UM) and New Democracy Party (PND)

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 16 June 2014

Name of the new Speaker: Mr. Cipriano Cassamá (African Party for the Independence of Guinea and Cape Verde, PAIGC)
Voter turnout
Round no 113 May 2014
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
686'876 (88.57%)

Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political Group Candidates Votes %
African Party for the Independence of Guinea and Cape Verde (PAIGC)
Party for Social Renovation (PRS)
Democratic Convergence Party (PCD)
Union for Change (UM )
New Democracy Party (PND)
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total
African Party for the Independence of Guinea and Cape Verde (PAIGC) 57
Party for Social Renovation (PRS) 41
Democratic Convergence Party (PCD) 2
Union for Change (UM ) 1
New Democracy Party (PND) 1
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
National People's Assembly (07.05.2014)

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union