HOME -> PARLINE -> KYRGYZSTAN (Jogorku Kenesh)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Jogorku Kenesh (Supreme Council)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name (generic / translated) Jogorku Kenesh / Supreme Council
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 4 October 2015
Purpose of elections Once again, the 2015 elections returned a fragmented parliament with no party winning an outright majority. The Social Democratic Party, close to pro-Russian President Almazbek Atambayev came first, taking 38 of the 120 Supreme Council; the Party's coalition partner, Ar-Namys (Dignity), failed to win parliamentary representation. The Social Democratic Party's main rival, Respublika - Ata-Jurt (led by former Prime Minister Omurbek Babanov), came second, followed by the Kyrgyzstan Party (led by former governor of the Chuy Region, Mr. Kanatbek Isayev), a close political ally of the Social Democratic Party. Two new parties - Onuguu (Progress) and Bir Bol (Stay United) - entered parliament. They won individually more seats than the party, "Ata-Merken" led by former Speaker Omurbek Tekebayev. On 2 November, the Social Democratic Party, Kyrgyzstan Party, Onuguu (Progress) and Ata-Merken agreed to form a new coalition government under the premiership of Social Democratic Party leader, Mr. Chynybai Tursunbekov.

The 2015 elections were the first to be held under President Atambayev. His election in 2011 marked the first peaceful transfer of presidential power in the country's post-Communist era. Under the new presidency, the country has forged a stronger relationship with the Russian Federation. In May 2015, Kyrgyzstan adopted a law ratifying treaties on its entrance into the Russian-led Eurasian Customs Union and the Eurasian Economic Union.

During the 2015 election campaign, the main parties focused on issues related to the economy, corruption and security. Biometric ID cards were used for the first time to prevent voter fraud. Only those who provided their biometric data to the State registration service were allowed to vote with their Biometric ID card or passport. Despite the outreach programmes of the registration service, only 2.76 million citizens out of a potential 3.5 million eligible voters registered in 2015, down from 2.85 million registered in 2010. In accordance with the 2011 electoral law, each party was required to respect candidate quotas: 30% of candidates standing for each party had to be women, 15% had to be from minority ethnic backgrounds, and 15% below 35 years old, while two candidates had to have limited health capacities. As in the 2010 elections, no party was permitted to hold more than 65 seats in the new legislature.
Date of previous elections: 10 October 2010

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: 28 October 2015

Timing of election: Upon normal expiry

Expected date of next elections: October 2020

Number of seats at stake: 120 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: Not available.

Percentage of women candidates: Not available.

Number of parties contesting the election: 14

Number of parties winning seats: 6

Alternation of power: Not applicable*
*The composition of government changed before the 2015 elections.

Number of parties in government: 4

Names of parties in government: Social Democratic Party, Kyrgyzstan Party, Onuguu (Progress) and Ata-Merken

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 28 October 2015

Name of the new Speaker: Mr. Asilbek Jeenbekov (Social Democratic Party)
Voter turnout
Round no 14 October 2015
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
1'589'479 (57.56%)

Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political Group Candidates Votes %
Social Democratic Party
Respublika - Ata-Jurt
Kyrgyzstan Party
Onuguu (Progress)
Bir Bol (Stay United)
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total
Social Democratic Party 38
Respublika - Ata-Jurt 28
Kyrgyzstan Party 18
Onuguu (Progress) 13
Bir Bol (Stay United) 12
Ata-Merken 11
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
Supreme Council (02.11.2015)

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union