Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Parlament (Parliament)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name (generic / translated) Parlament / Parliament
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 30 November 2014
Purpose of elections The Alliance for European Integration (AEI), led by Prime Minister Iurie Leanca of the Liberal Democratic Party of Moldova (PLDM), retained its majority in parliament. It took a total of 55 of the 101 seats, but was not able to secure the 61 seats that will be needed to elect a new President when the presidency is renewed in March 2016. The AEI comprises former Prime Minister Vlad Filat's PLDM, former Speaker Marian Lupu's Democratic Party of Moldova (PDM) and former Speaker Mihai Ghimpu's Liberal Party (PL). The Party of Moldovan Communists (PCRM), led by former President Vladimir Voronin, saw its share halved to 21 seats while the Party of Socialists (PSRM), now led by former PCRM Member Igor Dodon, became the largest single party with 25 seats.

The 2014 elections were held amid ongoing conflict in neighbouring Ukraine. Parties were divided over the country's future path: greater integration with the European Union (EU) or stronger ties with the Russian Federation. The PLDM promised to work for the country's accession to the EU by 2020 while establishing dialogue with Russia. PDM Deputy leader Vlad Plahotniuc called for "integration into the EU and development of cooperation with the CIS" (Commonwealth of Independent States). The PL promised stronger pro-NATO and pro-European policies. PCRM leader Voronin said cooperation with the EU would be more beneficial for the country. Several PCRM members left the party, accusing the leader of not taking a stronger pro-Russian stance. In November, PSRM leader Dodon met Russian President Vladimir Putin and promised to cancel Moldova's Association Agreement with the EU and establish stronger ties with Russia.
Date of previous elections: 28 November 2010

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: 29 November 2014

Timing of election: Upon normal expiry

Expected date of next elections: November 2018

Number of seats at stake: 101 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: 1,934 (1,315 men, 619 women)

Percentage of women candidates: 32%

Number of parties contesting the election: 21*
*20 parties and one electoral bloc

Number of parties winning seats: 5

Alternation of power: No

Number of parties in government: 2

Names of parties in government: Liberal Democratic Party of Moldova (PLDM) and the Democratic Party of Moldova (PDM) with the support of Party of Moldovan Communists (PCRM)

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 29 December 2014

Name of the new Speaker: Mr. Andrian Candu (Democratic Party of Moldova, PDM)
Voter turnout
Round no 130 November 2014
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
1'649'402 (58.89%)

Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political Group Candidates Votes %
Party of Socialists (PSRM)
Liberal Democratic Party of Moldova (PLDM)
Party of Moldovan Communists (PCRM)
Democratic Party of Moldova (PDM)
Liberal Party (PL)
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total
Party of Socialists (PSRM) 25
Liberal Democratic Party of Moldova (PLDM) 23
Party of Moldovan Communists (PCRM) 21
Democratic Party of Moldova (PDM) 19
Liberal Party (PL) 13
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
Note on distribution of seats according to sex:
Twenty-one women were elected in November 2014. After the formation of the new government in February 2015, the total number of women parliamentarians increased to 22.

Parliament (18.12.2014, 22.12.2014, 26.01.2015, 06.03.2015, 01.01.2017)

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union