HOME -> PARLINE -> PAKISTAN (National Assembly)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
National Assembly

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Electoral system module

Parliament name (generic / translated) Majlis-E-Shoora / Parliament
Structure of parliament Bicameral
Chamber name National Assembly
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments) Senate
Electoral Law 11 February 2002
Election Laws (Volume I - III)
Mode of designation directly elected 342
Constituencies 272 single-member constituencies
Breakdown of the number of seats by provinces:
Punjab (148 seats); Sindh (61 seats), the North West Frontier Province (NWFP, 35 seats), Balochistan (14 seats), the Federally Administered Tribal Area (FATA, 12 seats), and the Federal Capital (2 seats).
Voting system Majority: Direct election with simple-majority vote.
Vacancies arising between general elections are filled through by-elections.
Voting is not compulsory.
Voter requirements - age: 21 years
- Pakistani citizenship
- residence in the constituency
- disqualifications: insanity
Eligibility Qualified electors
- age: 25 years
- Pakistani citizenship
- good moral reputation
- if Muslims, fulfilment of certain conditions relating to Islam
- ineligibility: conviction of crime involving moral turpitude or giving false evidence, personal action against the integrity of the country, undischarged bankruptcy, imprisonment for a term of not less than five years, government contractors
Incompatibilities - membership of the armed forces
- public office
- office of profit in the service of Pakistan
Candidacy requirements - candidatures proposed and seconded by electors of the same constituency
- deposit of Rs. 4,000 reimbursed if the candidate polls more than 1/8 of the total votes cast in the constituency

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union