HOME -> PARLINE -> PALAU (Senate)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Senate (Senate)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name (generic / translated) Olbiil Era Kelulau / National Congress
Structure of parliament Bicameral
Chamber name Senate
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments) House of Delegates
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 1 November 2016
Purpose of elections The elections returned 13 incumbents to the 16-member House of Delegates and 8 to the 13-member Senate (see note). Two women were elected to the House of Delegates, for the first time since 1981 (prior to the country's independence in 1994). Two of the three outgoing women senators were re-elected. 25-year-old Aric Nakamura, the son of former President Kuniwo Nakamura, became the youngest person to be elected to the Senate.

With no political parties in Palau, there was no nation-wide election campaigning. Presidential candidates focused on the economy and measures to boost tourism. President Tommy Remengesau defeated his brother-in-law, Senator Surangel Whipps Jr., to win a fourth term.

Note on the number of senators:
The Reapportionment Commission publishes every eight years a redistricting plan for the Senate, which becomes law upon publication. On 27 June 2016, the Reapportionment Commission published its Reapportionment Plan, stating that there would be 13 senators and one senatorial district, i.e., the same as the outgoing Senate. A group of citizens petitioned the Supreme Court to review the Commission's decision, on the grounds that the population decreased by around 12% since 2005. On 1 September, the Court ruled that the number of senators should be reduced from 13 to 11, to be elected from one district. However, on 17 October, the Supreme Court reversed its judgment on appeal and upheld the decision of the Reapportionment Commission. Consequently, the new legislature contains 13 senators, as before.
Date of previous elections: 6 November 2012

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: 19 January*
*On the day when newly elected senators are sworn in.

Timing of election: Upon normal expiry

Expected date of next elections: 3 November 2020*
*The 1st Tuesday of November

Number of seats at stake: 13 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: 24 (18 men, 6 women)

Percentage of women candidates: 25%

Number of parties contesting the election: N/A (There are no political parties)

Number of parties winning seats: N/A

Alternation of power: No

Number of parties in government: N/A

Names of parties in government: N/A

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 19 January*
*The 3rd Thursday of January

Name of the new Speaker: Mr. Hokkons Baules
Voter turnout
Round no 11 November 2016
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes

Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
National Congress (21.11.2016)

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union