HOME -> PARLINE -> PORTUGAL (Assembleia da Republica)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Assembleia da Republica (Assembly of the Republic)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name (generic / translated) Assembleia da Republica / Assembly of the Republic
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 4 October 2015
Purpose of elections The centre-right coalition Forward Portugal, comprising the Social Democratic Party (PPD/PSD led by Prime Minister Pedro Passos Coelho) and the Democratic and Social Centre - People's Party (CDS-PP, of Mr. Paulo Portas), failed to win a majority in the 230-member Assembly of the Republic. It remained the largest single political force, taking 107 seats in all, down from 132 in 2011. Meanwhile, three leftist parties - the Socialist Party (PS), the Left Bloc (BE) and the Communist Party - Green Coalition (PCP-PEV) - increased their share and together took 122 seats in all.

The 2015 elections were the first since the country received a 78 billion-euro bailout from the European Union (EU) and the International Monetary Fund (IMF) in 2011. In May 2014, the strengthening economy enabled Portugal to leave the bailout program. During the election campaign, the major parties focused on austerity measures and the reduction of the budget deficit.

On 6 October, President Anibal Cavaco Silva (PPD/PSD) tasked Mr. Coelho with forming a new government. Mr. Coelho's efforts to obtain backing from the PS did not bear fruit, and the PS instead started negotiating a coalition agreement with the BE and the PCP-PEV. On 27 October, the President accepted the formation of a minority government comprising the PPD/PSD and the CDS-PP. On 10 November, the opposition parties in parliament joined forces to reject the programme proposed by Prime Minister Coelho, forcing the government to resign.

On 24 November, the President tasked PS leader Antonio Costa with forming a new government. Mr. Costa's coalition government, comprising the PS -, the BE and the PCP-PEV, - was sworn in on 30 November, ending weeks of political uncertainty.
Date of previous elections: 5 June 2011

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: 22 October 2015

Timing of election: Upon normal expiry*
*In cases of early dissolution of the Assembly of the Republic, the newly elected legislature completes the remaining period of the last session in progress of the outgoing legislature in addition to its statutory four-year term. The term of the Assembly of the Republic elected in June 2011 will thus last until 15 September 2015, in lieu of June 2015. General elections are held between 14 September and 14 October in the year in which the legislature ends.

Number of seats at stake: 230 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: 3,456

Percentage of women candidates: Not available.

Number of parties contesting the election: 20

Number of parties winning seats: 6

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 23 October 2015

Alternation of power: Yes

Number of parties in government: 3

Names of parties in government: Socialist Party (PS), the Left Bloc (BE) and the Communist Party - Green Coalition (PCP-PEV)

Name of the new Speaker: Mr. Eduardo Ferro Rodrigues (Socialist Party, PS)
Voter turnout
Round no 14 October 2015
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
5'408'805 (55.86%)

Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political Group Candidates Votes %
Social Democratic Party (PPD/PSD) - Democratic and Social Centre - People's Party (CDS-PP)
Socialist Party (PS)
Left Bloc (BE)
Communist Party - Green Coalition (PCP-PEV)
Social Democratic Party (PPD/PSD)
Party for People, Animals and Nature (PAN)
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total Portugal Members abroad
Social Democratic Party (PPD/PSD) - Democratic and Social Centre - People's Party (CDS-PP) 102 99 3
Socialist Party (PS) 86 85 1
Left Bloc (BE) 19 19 0
Communist Party - Green Coalition (PCP-PEV) 17 17 0
Social Democratic Party (PPD/PSD) 5 5 0
Party for People, Animals and Nature (PAN) 1 1 0
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
Note on the 'Distribution of seats according to sex':
72 women were elected in the October 2015 elections. The number of women was increased to 80 after the formation of the second Government on 27 November 2015

Assembly of the Republic (15.10.2015, 28.10.2015, 12.11.2015, 03.12.2015)

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union