HOME -> PARLINE -> ROMANIA (Senatul)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Senatul (Senate)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name (generic / translated) Parlamentul României / Parliament of Romania
Structure of parliament Bicameral
Chamber name (generic / translated) Senatul / Senate
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments) Camera Deputatilor / Chamber of Deputies
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 11 December 2016
Purpose of elections The Social Democratic Party (PSD), led by former Deputy Prime Minister Liviu Dragnea, became the largest force in both chambers of parliament but fell short of an outright majority. The PSD nevertheless took twice as many seats as the next largest party, the National Liberal Party (PNL). During the election campaign, the major parties focused on the economy, tax reform and job creation.

On 4 January 2017, parliament approved the formation of a coalition government comprising the PSD and the Liberal-Democrat Alliance (ALDE, led by Senate President Calin Popescu-Tariceanu). President Klaus Iohannis subsequently swore in the new government, headed by Mr. Sorin Grindeanu (PSD).

The 2016 elections were held under the new electoral system adopted in 2015. The previous Mixed Member Proportional System had frequently resulted in numerous overhang seats. All members in both chambers are now elected under the proportional representation system. As a consequence, the number of members in both chambers decreased following the 2016 elections: 329 members (including 17 ethnic minorities) in the Chamber of Deputies, down from 412; and 136 senators, down from 176.
Date of previous elections: 9 December 2012

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: Not applicable

Timing of election: Upon normal expiry

Expected date of next elections: December 2020

Number of seats at stake: 136 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: 2,226

Percentage of women candidates: Not available*
*A total of 6,476 candidates ran in the 2016 elections. They included 1,797 women, or 27.7%.

Number of parties contesting the election: 11

Number of parties winning seats: 6

Alternation of power: not applicable*

*A technocrat government was formed before the elections.

Number of parties in government: 2

Names of parties in government: Social Democratic Party (PSD), Liberal-Democrat Alliance (ALDE)

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 21 December 2016

Name of the new Speaker: Mr. Calin Popescu-Tariceanu (Liberal-Democrat Alliance, ALDE)
Voter turnout
Round no 111 December 2016
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
7'323'368 (39.79%)

Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political Group Candidates Votes %
Social Democrat Party (PSD)
National Liberation Party (PLN)
Save Romania Union (USR)
Democratic Alliance of Hungarians in Romania (UDMR)
Liberal-Democrat Alliance (ALDE)
Popular Movement Party (PMP)
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total
Social Democrat Party (PSD) 67
National Liberation Party (PLN) 30
Save Romania Union (USR) 13
Democratic Alliance of Hungarians in Romania (UDMR) 9
Liberal-Democrat Alliance (ALDE) 9
Popular Movement Party (PMP) 8
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
Senate (20.12.2016, 21.02.2017)

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union