HOME -> PARLINE -> SAINT LUCIA (House of Assembly)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
House of Assembly

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Electoral system module

Parliament name Houses of Parliament
Structure of parliament Bicameral
Chamber name House of Assembly
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments) Senate
Electoral Law 1 January 1900
Mode of designation directly elected 17
other 1
Constituencies 17 single-member constituencies.
Voting system Majority: Simple majority vote (first past the post).
Vacancies arising between general elections are filled through by-elections held within three months of the occurrence of the vacancy.
Voting is not compulsory.
Voter requirements - age: 18 years
- British Commonwealth citizenship
- residence in Saint Lucia
- disqualifications: insanity, imprisonment, death sentence, conviction for electoral offences
Eligibility - qualified electors
- age: 21 years
- British Commonwealth citizenship
- birth in Saint Lucia
- domicile and residence in the country on the date of nomination (or birth elsewhere with residency in the country for a period of 12 months immediately before that date)
- ability to speak and - unless incapacitated by blindness or other physical cause - to read the English language with a degree of proficiency sufficient to take an active part in the proceedings of the House
- ineligibilities: allegiance to a foreign State, undischarged bankruptcy, insanity, death sentence, imprisonment exceeding 12 months
Incompatibilities - ministers of religion
Candidacy requirements - support by at least six registered electors
- deposit of 250 East Caribbean dollars, reimbursed if the candidate obtains at least 1/8 of the votes cast in the constituency

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union