HOME -> PARLINE -> SAO TOME AND PRINCIPE (Assembleia nacional)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Assembleia nacional (National Assembly)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name (generic / translated) Assembleia Nacional / National Assembly
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 12 October 2014
Purpose of elections The Independent Democratic Alliance (ADI) led by former Prime Minister Patrice Trovoada won a majority, taking 33 seats in the 55-member National Assembly. The Sao Tome and Principe Liberation Movement/Social Democratic Party (MLSTP-PSD) of Mr. Aurélio Martins followed with 16 seats. Prime Minister Gabriel Costa's Democratic Convergence Party (PCD) came in a distant third with five seats.

ADI leader Trovoada returned to the country shortly before the polling day after two years of exile in Portugal. He called on voters to support the ADI to promote the country's stability. The MLSTP-PSD's premiership candidate, Mr. Osvaldo Vaz, reminded voters that vote-buying had no place in a democracy and urged everyone to respect the electoral process. The PCD promised to build a "just and fairer" country by creating jobs and eradicating poverty.

The ADI won the biggest share of seats in the previous elections in 2010 but fell short of a majority. Mr. Trovoada subsequently formed a minority government. However, in December 2012, President Manuel Pinto da Costa (independent, formerly MLSTP-PSD) dismissed him following a no-confidence vote in the National Assembly. The President then appointed Mr. Gabriel Costa (PCD) as the new Prime Minister. The latter's premiership candidacy was supported by all parliamentary parties apart from the ADI. Mr. Trovoada went into voluntary exile, claiming that he was being politically persecuted.
Date of previous elections: 1 August 2010

Timing of election: Upon normal expiry
*Article 21 of the Electoral Law stipulates that "The election of the National Assembly is held between the 22 September and on 14 October corresponding to the term of parliamentary year, unless the election results from dissolution".

Expected date of next elections: October 2018

Number of seats at stake: 55 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: Not available

Percentage of women candidates: Not available

Number of parties contesting the election: 12

Number of parties winning seats: 4

Alternation of power: N/A*
*The composition of the government had changed before the 2014 elections.

Number of parties in government: 1

Names of parties in government: Independent Democratic Alliance (ADI)

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 22 November 2014

Name of the new Speaker: Mr. José da Graça Diogo (Independent Democratic Alliance, ADI)
Voter turnout
Round no 112 October 2014
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
69'510 (74.91%)

Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political Group Candidates Votes %
Independent Democratic Alliance (ADI)
Sao Tome and Principe Liberation Movement - Social Democratic Party (MLSTP-PSD)
Democratic Convergence Party (PCD)
Democracy and Development Union (UDD)
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total
Independent Democratic Alliance (ADI) 33
Sao Tome and Principe Liberation Movement - Social Democratic Party (MLSTP-PSD) 16
Democratic Convergence Party (PCD) 5
Democracy and Development Union (UDD) 1
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
National Assembly (17.11.2014)

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union