HOME -> PARLINE -> SOLOMON ISLANDS (National Parliament)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
National Parliament

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name National Parliament
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 19 November 2014
Purpose of elections The 2014 elections returned a fragmented parliament. A record 32 independent candidates were elected to the 50-member Parliament, up from 19 in 2010. They included former Prime Minister Manasseh Sogavare. Outgoing Finance Minister Rick Houenipwela's Democratic Alliance Party came in first with seven seats, followed by the United Democratic Party and the People's Alliance Party which took five and three seats respectively. Prime Minister Mr. Gordon Darcy Lilo, who had led the ruling coalition called the National Coalition for Rural Advancement (NCRA) since 2012, lost his seat. Ms. Freda Comua was elected, becoming the third woman only in the country to win parliamentary representation.

Following the elections, Mr. Sogavare established the Democratic Coalition for Change (DCC) in view of forming a new government. The DCC comprised the United Democratic Party and the Kadere Party (which took one seat) as well as a number of independents who had previously held high-level government positions. On 10 December, Parliament elected Mr. Sogavare as Prime Minister with 31 votes. He defeated Mr. Jeremiah Manele (Democratic Alliance Party), who took the remaining 19 votes. The latter's candidacy was supported by the Solomon Islands Peoples Democratic Coalition (SIPDC, see note). Prime Minister Sogavare promised to rebuild the country's economy through foreign investment. On 17 December, Parliament elected Mr. Ajilon Jasper Nasiu, as its new Speaker. He defeated Ms. Taeasi Sanga, the long-serving Clerk, nominated by Opposition Leader Manele (SIPDC) and Independent Leader Mr. Manasseh Maelanga.

Prior to the elections, Prime Minister Lilo introduced biometric voter registration and issued voter identification cards to prevent people from casting multiple votes. More than 280,000 voters were registered for the 2014 elections, after an audit had removed 160,000 fraudulent registrations. Official turnout figures in 2014 were significantly higher than in previous elections.

Note: the Solomon Islands Peoples Democratic Coalition (SIPDC) was formed by the Democratic Alliance Party, the Peoples' Alliance Party, the Solomon Islands Party for Rural Advancement and Solomon Islands People First Party.
Date of previous elections: 4 August 2010

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: 8 Sep. 2014
Timing of election: Upon normal expiry*
*Article 74 of the Constitution requires general elections be held within four months of the dissolution of the outgoing legislature (i.e., by January 2015).

Expected date of next elections: November 2018

Number of seats at stake: 50 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: 443 (417 men, 26 women)

Percentage of women candidates: 5.9%

Number of parties contesting the election: 12

Number of parties winning seats: 6

Alternation of power: Yes

Number of parties in government: 2

Names of parties in government: United Democratic Party, Kadare Party of Solomon Islands and independent members

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 9 December 2014

Name of the new Speaker: Mr. Ajilon Jasper Nasiu
Voter turnout
Round no 119 November 2014
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes

Notes 89.93% of the registered voters turned out at the polls.
Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political Group Candidates Votes %
Democratic Alliance Party
United Democratic Party
People's Alliance Party
Solomon Islands Party for Rural Advancement
Solomon Islands People First Party
Kadare Party of Solomon Islands
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total
Independents 32
Democratic Alliance Party 7
United Democratic Party 5
People's Alliance Party 3
Solomon Islands Party for Rural Advancement 1
Solomon Islands People First Party 1
Kadare Party of Solomon Islands 1
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
Distribution of seats according to sex:
One woman was elected in November 2014. The number of women increased to two following the by-election in May 2018.

National Parliament (17.12.2014, 29.05.2018)

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union