HOME -> PARLINE -> ESWATINI (House of Assembly)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
House of Assembly

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Electoral system module

Parliament name (generic / translated) Libandla / Parliament
Structure of parliament Bicameral
Chamber name House of Assembly
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments) Senate
Electoral Law 13 May 1971
Mode of designation directly elected 55
appointed 10
Constituencies 55 single-member constituencies corresponding to the tinkhundlas (tribal communities).
Voting system Majority: Majority vote in two rounds.
The primary election is held at local councils (Chiefdoms).The first three successful candidates in each Chiefdom then proceed to the secondary election. The candidate who wins the highest number of votes is declared elected at the second round.
Vacancies for elective seats which arise between general elections are filled through by-elections. Vacancies for appointed members are filled through re-appointment by the Head of State.
Voting is not compulsory.
Voter requirements - age: 18 years and above
- Swazi citizenship
- ordinary residence or work in the Constituency
- ineligibility: insanity, allegiance to a foreign State, sentence of death or imprisonment exceeding six months, conviction on election offences.
Eligibility - qualified electors
- age: 18 years
- Swazi citizenship
- ordinary residence in the country
- ineligibility: undischarged bankruptcy
Incompatibilities - public or election-connected office
- government contractors
- members of the armed forces
Candidacy requirements - Nomination by Chiefdoms
- Each Chiefdom nominates not less than four and not more than 10 candidates.

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union