HOME -> PARLINE -> SWEDEN (Riksdagen)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Riksdagen (Parliament)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name (generic / translated) Riksdagen / Parliament
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 14 September 2014
Purpose of elections The Alliance, a coalition of centre-right parties led by outgoing Prime Minister Fredrik Reinfeldt, comprising his Moderate Party, the Liberal Party, the Centre Party and the Christian Democrats, took 141 of the 349 seats at stake, down from 173 in 2010. The three main parties on the left - the Social Democratic Party (SAP), the Left Party and the Green Party - took a total of 159 seats. Prime Minister Reinfeldt conceded defeat and resigned as leader of the Moderate Party. Meanwhile, the populist Sweden Democrats party (SD) more than doubled its share from 20 to 49 seats. On 18 September Speaker Per Westerberg tasked SAP leader Mr. Stefan with forming a new government. On 3 October, the latter formed a minority government comprising the SAP and the Green Party under his premiership.

During the election campaign, Prime Minister Reinfeldt ran on the government's record, stating that the Swedish economy was doing better than its European counterparts. He promised to invest more in education and to increase the workforce by 350,000 by 2020. SAP leader Lofven said the centre-right government was undermining the Welfare State because of a series of tax reductions. SAP promised to create more jobs and increase taxes on banks, so as to invest more in nurseries and kindergartens while also reducing taxes for pensioners. SD leader Jimmie Akesson did not put as much focus on immigration as in previous elections. SD promised to increase spending on employment and healthcare and to provide free medical care for people over 85 years old.
Date of previous elections: 19 September 2010

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: 29 Septebmer 2014

Timing of election: Upon normal expiry

Expected date of next elections: September 2018

Number of seats at stake: 349 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: 5,901 (3,233 men, 2,668 women)

Percentage of women candidates: 45.2%

Number of parties contesting the election: 34

Number of parties winning seats: 8

Alternation of power: Yes

Number of parties in government: 2

Names of parties in government: Social Democratic Party and Green Party

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 29 September 2014

Name of the new Speaker: Mr. Urban Ahlin (Social Democratic Party)
Voter turnout
Round no 114 September 2014
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
6'290'016 (85.81%)

Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political Group Candidates Votes %
Social Democratic Party (SAP)
Moderate Party (M)
Sweden Democrats (SD)
Green Party (Mpg)
Centre Party (CP)
Left Party (VP)
Liberal Party (FP)
Christian Democrats (KD)
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total
Social Democratic Party (SAP) 113
Moderate Party (M) 84
Sweden Democrats (SD) 49
Green Party (Mpg) 25
Centre Party (CP) 22
Left Party (VP) 21
Liberal Party (FP) 19
Christian Democrats (KD) 16
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
Note on the number of women:
152 women were elected in the September 2014 elections. The number of women increased to 156 after the formation of the Government on 30 September 2014.

Parliament (13.11.2014, 01.01.2015, 24.03.2017)

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union