HOME -> PARLINE -> YEMEN (Majlis Annowab)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Majlis Annowab (House of Representatives)

This page contains the full text of the PARLINE database entry on the selected parliamentary chamber, with the exception of Oversight and Specialized bodies modules which, because of their excessive length, can be only viewed and printed separately.


Parliament name (generic / translated) Majlis / Parliament
More photos  >>>
Structure of parliament Bicameral
Chamber name (generic / translated) Majlis Annowab / House of Representatives
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments) Majlis Alshoora / Consultative Council
Affiliation to the IPU Yes
Affiliation date(s) 1975 - 1976
1990 -
President Yahya Ali AL-Raee (M) 
Notes Elected on 11 Feb. 2008.
Secretary General Abdulla Ahmed Sofan (M) 
Members (statutory / current number) 301 / 275

More statistics  >>>
Women (current number) 0 (0.00%)
Mode of designation directly elected 301
Term 6 years
Notes Following the constitutional amendments of February 2009, elections to the House of Representatives, which were due on 27 April 2009, have been postponed to 27 April 2011. As a consequence, the House of Representatives approved exceptionally the extension of its current term by two years, until the new elections, without modifying the term of the House as indicated in the Constitution. The term was extended by two more years to 25 February 2014; then by another year to 23 February 2015. In January 2014, the National Dialogue Conference (NDC) further extended the term until the adoption of the new Constitution, which itself is expected to take place in the course of 2015.
Last renewal dates 27 April 2003
(View details)
Address House of Representatives
Majlis Annowab
P.O. Box 623 - SANA´A
(Export mailing lists)
Phone (9671) 27 27 61
27 60 84
27 27 63 (President)
Fax (9671) 27 60 99
27 60 91 (President)
E-mail yp@yemenparliament.gov.ye


Parliament name (generic / translated) Majlis / Parliament
Structure of parliament Bicameral
Chamber name (generic / translated) Majlis Annowab / House of Representatives
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments) Majlis Alshoora / Consultative Council
Electoral law 1 January 1900
Mode of designation directly elected 301
Constituencies 301 single-member constituencies.
Voting system Majority: Simple majority system.
Vacancies arising between general elections are filled through by-elections held within a period of two months. No such elections are held when vacancies arise within the last six months of the parliamentary term.
Voting is not compulsory.
Voter requirements - age: 18 years
- Yemeni citizenship
- residence in Yemen
Eligibility - age: 25 years
- Yemeni citizenship
- literacy
- good moral character
- ineligibility: conviction, without rehabilitation, for an immoral act
Incompatibilities - active duty in the civil service
Candidacy requirements (data unavailable)


Parliament name (generic / translated) Majlis / Parliament
Structure of parliament Bicameral
Chamber name (generic / translated) Majlis Annowab / House of Representatives
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments) Majlis Alshoora / Consultative Council
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 27 April 2003
Timing and scope of renewal Elections were held for all the seats in Parliament on the normal expiry of the members' term of office.
On 27 April 2003, more than eight million voters elected the 301 members of the Parliament in the country's third parliamentary elections, since its unification in 1990. According to the Supreme Commission for Elections and Referendum (SCER), some 1,536 candidates, representing 22 parties and independents, contested the elections. There were only 16 female candidates, the smallest percentage ever, even though female voters make up 45% of the registered electorate.

The main parties were President Ali Abdullah Saleh's General People's Congress (GPC), the opposition Yemeni Congregation for Reform (Islah) of the Speaker of Parliament and the Yemeni Socialist Party. In the outgoing assembly, the GPC had 226 seats, Islah 62, the opposition Nasserite party three seats and the Baath party two. Independents held eight seats while the Socialist Party had no representative.

The electoral campaign was overshadowed by the US-led war on Iraq, a factor which made the atmosphere not as exciting as in earlier elections. All political parties gave priority to the fight against terrorism, but with completely different approaches. The GPC declared its intention to continue cooperating with the United States and the rest of the world in the war against terrorism, while the Islah announced that combating terrorism should be discussed and approved by legislative institutions. During the campaign, the two main parties, GPC and Islah, threw mud at each other in the media. The Islah party accused the official media of distorting its reputation, while the newspaper close to the GPC even went so far as to name the Assahwa newspaper, close to Islah, as the Taliban-Yemen mouthpiece.

Advertisement agencies were employed for the first time to produce and hang thousands of banners and posters bearing slogans of all the various parties.

Before the elections, all 22 political parties had signed a code of conduct with the aim of stopping violence during the elections. Even though violent incidents were reported, there was less election violence than in previous polls held in this country, where many people carry arms (for example, 29 people were killed in fighting related to municipal elections in 2001).

Violence erupted in several places on polling day. At least fifteen people were shot and three polling stations closed by officials due to shootouts among rival parties. The violence occurred despite a 100,000-strong military presence deployed at polling stations across the country. The polls were supervised by 175 international observers and thousands of national monitors.

Final results indicated that the People's General Congress had retained its overwhelming majority after winning 238 seats, as against 46 seats for the opposition Yemeni Congregation for Reform (Islah), 8 for the Yemeni Socialist Party, and 4 for Independents. The Nasserite Unionist Popular Organisation obtained three seats, while the Arab Baath Socialist Party won the remaining two.

On 10 May 2003, the new Parliament convened its first meeting and re-elected Sheikh Abdullah bin Hussein Al-Ahmar as its Speaker.
Voter turnout
Round no 127 April 2003
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
6'105'696 (75.98%)
Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political group Candidates Votes % of votes
General People's Congress (GPC) 3'429'888 58.01
Yemeni Congregation for Reform (Islah) 1'333'394 22.55
Yemeni Socialist Party 227'223 3.84
Nasserite Unionist Popular Organization 109'480 1.85
Arab Baath Socialist Party 40'377 0.68
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total of seats
General People's Congress (GPC) 238
Yemeni Congregation for Reform (Islah) 46
Yemeni Socialist Party 8
Independents 4
Nasserite Unionist Popular Organization 3
Arab Baath Socialist Party 2
Distribution of seats according to sex


Percent of women


Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
Yemen Times
House of Representatives (25.08.2016)

This page was last updated on 29 August 2016
Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union