HOME -> PARLINE -> AZERBAIJAN (Milli Mejlis)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Milli Mejlis (National Assembly)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name (generic / translated) Milli Mejlis / National Assembly
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 7 November 2010
Purpose of elections Elections were held for all seats in the National Assembly on the normal expiry of the members' term of office.
On 3 September 2010, President Ilham Aliyev signed a decree setting parliamentary elections for 7 November.

After the previous elections held in November 2005 (and re-run elections for 10 seats in May 2006), the ruling New Azerbaijan Party (NAP) took 61 of the 125 seats in the National Assembly. The Azadliq (Freedom) bloc, comprising three opposition parties - the Democratic Party of Azerbaijan (ADP), the Musavat Party and the Popular Front (PFAP) - took nine seats. The Justice Party and the Civic Solidarity Party took one seat each while the remaining 53 seats went to independent candidates.

Mr. Ilham Aliyev, the then Prime Minister, inherited the presidency after the death of his father, Heydar, in 2003. In October 2008, he was re-elected for a second term in presidential elections that were boycotted by opposition parties. In March 2009, a constitutional referendum removed the two-term limit on the president.

In all, 690 candidates contested the 2010 elections. In addition to President Aliyev's NAP, about ten pro-government parties - including the Motherland Party representing Azerbaijanis of Armenian origin - as well as many independent candidates close to the NAP were vying for seats.

Opposition forces remained divided in 2010, and ran against each other. They included "Democracy" (Demokratiya), "Reform" (Islahat) as well as the bloc formed by Mr. Ali Kerimli's PFAP and Mr. Isa Qambar's Musavat, the country's traditional opposition force (see note).

The NAP ran on the government's record and pledged to continue "the successful policy pursued by President Ilham Aliyev". Deputy Chairman of NAP, Mr. Ali Ahmadov, called on voters' support, underscoring that President Aliyev was laying a "solid foundation of development for Azerbaijan" and would bring "dramatic change to society".

The Civil Solidarity Party (VHP), which was a component of "Democracy", pledged to become "a political force that can give it the strength to achieve democratic values".

PFAP-Musavat issued a joint platform, "For cardinal changes", arguing that deep reforms in all spheres were required. It promised to amend the Constitution to expand parliament's powers and to accelerate the country's integration into Europe. Musavat, the oldest political party in Azerbaijan, formed in 1911, was reportedly losing ground.

"Reform", led by Mr. Fazil Mustafa, pledged to become a new opposition force and was running against PFAP-Musavat.

In all, 50.14 per cent of the 4.9 million registered voters turned out at the polls.

PFAP-Musavat claimed voting irregularities, including ballot stuffing, multiple voting, and interference in the voting by the executive authorities.

Observers from the European Parliament stated that the election had been technically well-organized and proceeded in a calm atmosphere, but noted irregularities such as massive ballot stuffing. The Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE) called for greater efforts to achieve "a truly pluralist democracy". They criticized limits to media freedom and freedom of assembly, which, in their view, "further weakened the opposition and made vibrant political discourse almost impossible". Observers from the Commonwealth of Independent States declared the vote "free and fair".

The final results gave 71 seats to the NAP and 41 to independent candidates close to the NAP. The Motherland Party took two seats. The remaining 11 seats went to nine opposition parties. PFAP-Musavat failed to win parliamentary representation. 20 women were elected.

In all, 87 outgoing members were re-elected. Three relatives of President Aliyev (his wife, his uncle and his cousin's husband) won seats.

Musavat leader Isa Qambar rejected the election results and called for fresh polls that were free and fair, a call rejected by the government.

On 29 November, the newly elected National Assembly held its first session and re-elected Mr. Oqtay S. Asadov (NAP) as its Speaker.

"Democracy" (Demokratiya) comprised the Democratic Reform Party (PDR) and the Civil Solidarity Party (VHP). "Reform" (Islahat) comprised the United People's Front, the Justice Party (Aadalyat), Takamul (Evolution) and the Grand Establishment Party. Other opposition forces were: Karabakh coalition (Qarabag), comprising Umid (Hope) and the Democratic Party of Azerbaijan (ADP); and For the Good of the People (Insan Namine), comprising the Green Party, the Liberal Party (ALP) and the Citizens and Development Party.
Voter turnout
Round no 17 November 2010
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes

Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total
New Azerbaijan Party (NAP) 71
Independents 41
Civic Solidarity Party (VHP) 3
Motherland party (Ana Vaten) 2
United People's Front 1
Democratic Reform Party (PDR) 1
Great Creation party 1
National Rebirth Movement 1
Umid (Hope) 1
Social Welfare party 1
Civic Unity party 1
Justice Party 1
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
31 to 40 years
41 to 50 years
51 to 60 years
61 to 70 years
Over 70 years
Distribution of seats according to profession
Source: National Assembly (30.11.2010, 31.03.2011, 01.01.2014)

Copyright 1996-2013 Inter-Parliamentary Union