HOME -> PARLINE -> CONGO (Assemblée nationale)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Assemblée nationale (National Assembly)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name (generic / translated) Parlement / Parliament
Structure of parliament Bicameral
Chamber name (generic / translated) Assemblée nationale / National Assembly
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments) Sénat / Senate
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) (from/to)15 July 2012
5 August 2012
Purpose of elections Long-time President Denis Sassou-Nguesso's Congolese Workers Party (PCT) won a clear victory, taking 89 of the 139 seats at stake (see note). The PCT only took 44 seats in the 2007 elections, though many independent candidates subsequently joined the PCT. The PCT and its allies now control 117 seats in parliament.

The main opposition Pan-African Union for Social Democracy (UPADS) took seven seats, losing four. The UPADS called on voters not to give a two-thirds majority to the PCT. It argued that the PCT was considering constitutional amendments to remove the presidential term limit and thus to allow the incumbent President to stand again.

President Sassou-Nguesso first seized power in a 1979 coup. After losing elections in 1992, he became President again in 1997 following a civil war. He is constitutionally barred from seeking another consecutive term at the next elections in 2016.

The statutory number of members increased from 137 to 139. However, elections in three constituencies in Brazzaville were postponed due to explosions in March 2012 that claimed 300 lives.
Date of previous elections: 24 June & 5 August 2007

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: N/A

Timing of election: Upon normal expiry

Expected date of next elections: July 2017

Number of seats at stake: 139 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: 1,213 (124 women, 1089 men)

Percentage of women candidates: 10.22%

Number of parties contesting the election: Not available

Number of parties winning seats: 13

Alternation of power: N/A (presidential system)

Number of parties in government: 4

Names of parties in government: Congolese Workers Party (PCT), Congolese Movement for Democracy and Integral Development (MCDDI), Union of Democratic Forces (UFD) and Citizens' Rally (RC).

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 5 September 2012

Name of the new Speaker: Mr. Justin Koumba (PCT)
Voter turnout
Round no 1 (from/to)15 July 2012
5 August 2012
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes

Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total
Congolese Workers Party (PCT) 89
Independents 12
Congolese Movement for Democracy and Integral Development (MCDDI) 7
Pan-African Union for Social Democracy (UPADS) 7
Rally for Democracy and Social Progress (RDPS) 5
Action & Renewal Movement (MAR) 4
Citizens' Rally (RC) 3
Movement for Unity, Solidarity, and Work (MUST) 2
Patriotic Union for Democracy and Progress (UPDP) 2
Prospects and Realities Club (CPR) 1
Union of Democratic Forces (UFD) 1
Union for the Republic (UR) 1
Club 2002 - Party for the Unity of the Republic (PUR) 1
Republican and Liberal Party (PRL) 1
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
National Assembly (27.08.2012)
Permanent Mission of the Republic of the Congo to the United Nations Office and other international organizations in Geneva (06.11.2012)

Preliminary results. There are three vacant seats.

Copyright 1996-2013 Inter-Parliamentary Union