HOME -> PARLINE -> GUINEA (Assemblée nationale)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Assemblée nationale (National Assembly)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name (generic / translated) Assemblée nationale / National Assembly
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 30 June 2002
Purpose of elections Elections were held for all seats in the People's National Assembly. Initially scheduled for April 2000 they were subsequently postponed to November of 2000. The opposition parties requested another postponement which put the election back to 27 December 2001. Due to attacks on the Liberian border the elections were postponed yet again and were put off a fourth and last time owing to logistical difficulties. They were finally held on 30 June 2002.
The legislative elections of 30 June 2002 were the first such elections since the ones held on 11 June 1995 which led to the formation of the first multi-party Assembly for Guinea since independence. The renewal of the Assembly was initially scheduled for 2000 after the normal five-year legislative term but was postponed several times.

During the electoral campaign which got underway on 8 June 2002 4 769 candidates from 12 political parties vied for the 114 seats in the National Assembly with an electorate estimated at some 4.5 million citizens.

The so-called "radical" opposition parties namely the Guinean People's Rally (RPG) of Professor Alpha Condé the Union of Republic Forces (UFR) of former minister Sidya Touré and the Dyamaa of Mr. Mansour Kaba members of an alliance called FRAD spearheaded by such eminent figures as El-hadj Biro Diallo former President of the National Assembly and Mr. Bâ Mamadou refused to take part in which they viewed as an "electoral farce".

On the whole the campaign took place in a climate of calm throughout the country and was marked by widespread indifference perhaps due to the fact that the month of June is the most important crop-growing season in the countryside. It is also the period of school and university exams in urban centres. Finally the campaign coincided with the final phase of the World Cup in South Korea and Japan which raised such tremendous interest that riots broke out twice in some neighbourhoods of the capital Conakry owing to power cuts.

Official sources estimate turnout at 72.47% of the 4 458 871 registered voters with the following breakdown of votes: 61.57% for the Unity and Progress Party (PUP) and 26.63 % for the Union for Progress and Renewal (UPR) (party created by the merging of UNR and PRP) with the other parties accounting for the remainder.

The Unity and Progress Party (PUP) which has come out in favour of President Conté obtained an absolute majority of seats in the National Assembly by sweeping all 38 seats filled through a single-member system and 47 seats filled via proportional voting. The Union for Progress and Renewal (UPR) one of the two opposition parties which decided to take part in the voting obtained 20 seats as compared with three seats for the other such opposition party the Union for Progress in Guinea (UPG). Two parties of the "presidential movement" the Democratic Party of Guinea (PDG) and the National Alliance for Progress (ANP) took three seats and one seat respectively.

The results were contested by some opposition parties inter alia the Guinean People's Union (UPG).

The new National Assembly was installed on 23 September 2002. Mr. Aboubacar Somparé Secretary General of the PUP was elected President of the Assembly. The new Assembly began its work without the UPG which decided not to occupy the seats it had won thereby continuing to contest the election results.
Voter turnout
Round no 130 June 2002
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
3'192'870 (71.61%)
Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political Group Candidates Votes %
Party for Unity and Progress(PUP) 1'976'109
Union for Progress and Renewal (UPR) 854'679
Union for the Progress of Guinea (UPG) 131'980
Democratic Party of Guinea (PDG) 109'170
National Alliance for Progress (ANP) 63'702
Others 22'125
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total Majority Proportional
Party for Unity and Progress(PUP) 85 38 47
Union for Progress and Renewal (UPR) 20 20
Union for the Progress of Guinea (UPG) 3 3
Democratic Party of Guinea (PDG) 3 3
National Alliance for Progress (ANP) 2 2
Others 1 1
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
Source : Guinéenews

Copyright 1996-2010 Inter-Parliamentary Union