HOME -> PARLINE -> KIRIBATI (Maneaba Ni Maungatabu)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Maneaba Ni Maungatabu (House of Assembly)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name (generic / translated) Maneaba Ni Maungatabu / House of Assembly
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) (from/to)22 August 2007
30 August 2007
Purpose of elections Elections were held for all the elective seats in the House of Assembly.
The August 2007 parliamentary elections were the first to be held under President Anote Tong of the Boutokaan Te Koaua (Pillars of Truth BTK) party who was elected in the July 2003 presidential elections ahead of his brother Mr. Harry Tong. The latter was supported by the Maneaban Te Mauri (Protect the Maneaba MTM) party. Following his election President Tong switched the country's diplomatic recognition from China to Taiwan.

In the previous parliamentary elections held in May 2003 the BTK won 17 of the 40 directly-elected seats while the MTM took 16. The remainder went to independent candidates. After the formation of a new BTK-led government five independent members joined the BTK giving it 22 seats in all.

In the 2007 elections 145 candidates including 11 women contested the 44 directly-elected seats (up from 40 see note). Most candidates pledged to provide better education and enhanced job opportunities. Prior to the elections the BTK government was accused of covering up an alleged scandal involving university scholarships (which were reportedly granted to 18 "unsuitable" students to pursue their degree programme in Fiji in 2006). President Tong promised further investigation.

The elections went off peacefully in the small country of 108 000 inhabitants. The turnout for the first round held on 22 August was not published. In the second round held on 30 August 67.54 per cent of the 36 000 eligible voters cast their ballot.

In the first round 18 candidates including two women and President Tong were elected upon securing the required majority. The BTK took 10 seats while the MTM took only two. Six independent candidates elected.

In the run-off elections held for the 26 remaining seats the BTK won an additional eight seats making a total of 18. The MTM took five more seats or seven in all. Thirteen more independent candidates were elected bringing the total to 19. No woman candidate was elected in the second round. Following the second round some independent candidates joined the BTK.

The newly-elected parliament held its first session on 17 September and elected Mr. Taomati T. Luta (BTK) as its Speaker. He had previously served as Speaker from January to March 2003.

Parliament nominated four presidential candidates including the incumbent president Anote Tong and the Finance Minister Mr. Nabuti Mwemwenikarawa. The opposition MTM's candidate Mr. Harry Tong failed to be nominated triggering street protests prior to the presidential poll of 17 October.

In all 56.7 per cent of the 43 000 registered voters turned out for the presidential elections. President Tong was re-elected winning more than 15 000 votes or 64 per cent of the valid votes largely surpassing Mr. Mwemwenikarawa who won approximately 8 000 votes.

On 23 October President Tong named a new 11-member cabinet including seven ministers from his first government but not Mr. Mwemwenikarawa. Members were sworn in on the same day.

On 7 June 2007 parliament approved the Electoral Commission’s recommendation to increase the number of directly-elected members from 40 to 44. The new quota attributes one seat for constituencies with fewer than 1 500 inhabitants two seats for those with between 1 500 and 5 000 inhabitants and three seats for constituencies with over 5 000 inhabitants. The number of seats has been increased in the four islands of Fanning Kiritimati Makin and North Tarawa given their growing population.
Voter turnout
Round no 122 August 2007
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes

Round no 230 August 2007
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
24'330 (67.54%)

Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political Group Candidates Votes %
Boutokaan Te Koaua (Pillars of Truth)
Maneaban Te Mauri (Protect the Maneaba)
Round no 2
Political Group Candidates Votes %
Boutokaan Te Koaua (Pillars of Truth)
Maneaban Te Mauri (Protect the Maneaba)
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total
Boutokaan Te Koaua (Pillars of Truth) 10
Independents 6
Maneaban Te Mauri (Protect the Maneaba) 2
Round no 2
Political Group Total
Independents 13
Boutokaan Te Koaua (Pillars of Truth) 8
Maneaban Te Mauri (Protect the Maneaba) 5
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
- House of Assembly (10.09.2007 27.09.2007)
- http://www.tskl.net.ki/parliament/members.html

Note on the distribution of seats according to sex:
The statistics include one appointed member and one ex officio member (the Attorney General). Both are men. Of the 46 members two are women.

Note on the statutory number:
If the Attorney General is an elected member the total number of members becomes 45 instead of 46.

Copyright 1996-2011 Inter-Parliamentary Union