Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name Congress
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 3 March 2015
Purpose of elections The 2015 elections largely returned the members of the outgoing legislature. All four "at-large" senators (see note 1) were re-elected, along with former Speaker Isaac V. Figir, who was re-elected unopposed. The long-serving member and outgoing Speaker, Mr. Dohsis Halbert, did not run in 2015. As in previous elections, there were no women candidates. In May, Mr. Peter M. Christian from Pohnpei state was elected as the country's new President, replacing Mr. Emmanuel (Manny) Mori from Chuuk state, who had held the presidency since 2007.

In absence of political parties, all candidates stand as independents in Micronesia. Campaigning usually focuses on local issues. In 2015, however, a referendum on independence for Chuuk state, initially scheduled in parallel with the parliamentary elections, became the major electoral issue. However, the referendum was postponed one week before the polling day (see note 2) by an executive order of Chuuk Governor Johnson Elimo. He stated more consultation and awareness was needed before the referendum could take place (see note 2).

Note 1:
Micronesia is made up of four states: Chuuk, Pohnpei, Kosrae and Yap. Senior positions – presidency, vice presidency, speaker - have been traditionally shared between the states. The country's President is elected among the four “at large” senators (one each from the four states) who serve a 4-year term, whereas the remaining 10 members of Congress serve a 2-year term.

Note 2:
Since independence in 1986, Micronesia has been in free association with the United States of America based on the Compact of Free Association (COFA), whereby the United States funds Micronesia through an annual subsidy. Chuuk, the most populous state with 54,000 inhabitants, has demanded a greater share of subsidy under the COFA, which expires in 2023. In 2011, the Chuuk government established the Chuuk State Political Status Commission with view to re-negotiating a separate COFA. In 2014, the Commission recommended that a referendum on Chuuk's independence be scheduled in March 2015. On 27 January 2015, President Mori established a task force, aimed at avoiding Chuuk's scission from the Federated State.
Date of previous elections: 5 March 2013

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: N/A

Timing of election: Upon normal expiry

Expected date of next elections: 7 March 2017

Number of seats at stake: 14 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: 34 (34 men, 0 women)

Percentage of women candidates: 0%

Number of parties contesting the election: N/A*
*There are no political parties.

Number of parties winning seats: N/A

Alternation of power: N/A

Number of parties in government: N/A

Names of parties in government: N/A

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 11 May 2015

Name of the new Speaker: Mr. Wesley W. Simina (Chuuk state)
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Source: Congress (08.03.2015)

Note on the distribution of seats according to political parties:
Not applicable. There are no political parties.

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union