HOME -> PARLINE -> PAPUA NEW GUINEA (National Parliament)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
National Parliament

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name National Parliament
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) (from/to)23 June 2012
17 July 2012
Purpose of elections The People's National Congress Party (PNCP) became the largest party in parliament, with 27 of the 111 seats. 18 other parties also won seats. The 2012 elections saw a high turnover: around 60 per cent of outgoing members, including Speaker Jeffrey Nape, were not returned to office. The outgoing legislature had failed to pass a quota bill that would have reserved 22 seats for women. The number of women nevertheless increased from one to three, though without Dame Carol Kidu, the sole woman in the outgoing legislature and sponsor of the quota bill, who retired at the end of the legislature.

On 3 August, the new parliament re-elected Mr. Peter O'Neill (People's National Congress Party, PNCP) as Prime Minister with the support of 93 members. This ended a year-long political stalemate, during which Mr. O'Neill and former long-time Prime Minister Sir Michael Somare both claimed to lead the government. The new 33-member Cabinet comprised 11 parties including the PNCP and Mr. Somare's National Alliance (NA).
Dates of previous elections: 30 June - 17 July 2007

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: 16 May 2012

Timing of election: Upon normal expiry

Expected date of next elections: June 2017

Number of seats at stake: 100 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: 3,435 (3,300 men, 135 women)

Percentage of women candidates: 3.9%

Number of parties contesting the election: 46

Number of parties winning seats: 21

Alternation of power: Not applicable (Two persons claimed to be Prime Minister before the 2012 elections)

Number of parties in government: 11

Names of parties in government: People's National Congress Party, Triumph Heritage Empowerment Party, National Alliance, United Resources Party, People's Party, People's Progress Party, People's Democratic Movement, Indigenous People's Party, United Party, Our Development Party, Social Democratic Party and one independent member

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 3 August 2012

Name of the new Speaker: Mr. Theodore Zibang Zurecnuoc (People's Progress Party)
Voter turnout
Round no 1 (from/to)23 June 2012
17 July 2012
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
3'672'251 (76.89%)

Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total
People's National Congress Party (PNCP) 27
Independents 16
Triumph Heritage Empowerment party 12
PNG Party 8
National Alliance (NA) 7
United Resources Party (URP) 7
People's Progress Party 6
People's Party 6
Social Democratic Party 3
People's Movement for Change Party 2
People's United Assembly Party 2
People's Democratic Movement (PDM) 2
Coalition for Reform Party 2
Melanesian Liberal Party (MLP) 2
New Generation Party (NGP) 2
Indigenous People's Party 1
Our Development Party 1
Pangu Paty (PP) 1
PNG Constitutional Democratic Party 1
PNG Country Party 1
Stars Alliance Party 1
United Party (UP) 1
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
- National Parliament (03.08.2012, 09.08.2012)
- http://www.pngec.gov.pg/partysum.html

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union