HOME -> PARLINE -> SOLOMON ISLANDS (National Parliament)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
National Parliament

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name National Parliament
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 5 April 2006
Purpose of elections Elections were held for all the seats in the National Parliament following premature dissolution of this body on 20 December 2005. Elections had previously taken place on 15 December 2001.
On 23 February 2006 Prime Minister Allan Kemakeza called elections for 5 April 2006 for the National Parliament which had been dissolved on 20 December 2005.

The 2006 elections were the first since foreign peacekeepers intervened to restore order in the country in June 2003 under the auspices of the Australian-led Regional Assistance Mission to Solomon Islands (RAMSI). Intermittent clashes had continued between militants from Malaita island and inhabitants of the main island Guadalcanal.

In the last elections held in 2001 which were marred by allegations of fraud Prime Minister Kemakeza's People's Alliance Party (PAP) and its allies won 20 seats followed by the opposition coalition the Solomon Islands Alliance for Change Coalition (SIACC) led by the Liberal Party (LP) which obtained 12. The People's Progress Party (PPP) and the Labour Party won three and one seats respectively and the remainder went to independents who subsequently formed an Association of Independent Members of Parliament (AIM).

During the 2006 election campaign Prime Minister Kemakeza called for voters' support for the country's rebuilding process. The Social Credit Party (Socred) led by former Prime Minister and former leader of the PPP Mr. Manasseh Sogavare criticized the Government for not dealing with economic problems. The LP and the United Party led by Speaker of Parliament Mr. Peter Kenilorea also focused on economic issues.

A total of 453 candidates including a record 24 women contested the 2006 elections. A total of 50 international observer teams including from the Commonwealth Secretariat the South Pacific countries New Zealand Australia and Japan monitored the elections. The Commonwealth Observer Group concluded the poll had been peaceful and orderly. Although it recommended that the Electoral Commission improve the registration process the Group praised the single ballot box system used in the 2006 elections for the first time compared to the old system of using separate ballot boxes for individual candidates.

In the final election results no party won more than four seats. Independent candidates most of whom were reportedly allied to the AIM took 30 seats in the 50-member parliament. The PAP suffered a setback with its number of seats reduced to three and 20 ministers voted out of office. The National Party (NP) and the Solomon Islands Party for Rural Advancement each won four seats while the Solomon Islands Christian Democratic Party took three. As in the last elections no women were elected in 2006.

On 16 April the candidature of Mr. Snyder Rini of the AIM for the post of prime minister triggered widespread street protests in the capital Honiara that targeted the Chinatown area. Protesters alleged corruption and insisted that Mr. Rini had been unfairly favoring Chinese businessmen. Protests intensified after Mr. Rini's election as Prime Minister on 18 April prompting peacekeeping troops from Australia and New Zealand to arrive in the Solomon Islands the following day.

On 24 April the newly-elected parliament held its first session which was closed to the public and assisted by police and military forces. It re-elected Mr. Peter Kenilorea unopposed as Speaker.

On 26 April Mr. Rini resigned prior to a no-confidence vote in Parliament and Mr. Fred Fono became the caretaker Prime Minister. On 27 April five opposition parties formed a grand coalition leading to the election of Mr. Manasseh Sogavare (Socred) as the new Prime Minister on 4 May 2006.
Voter turnout
Round no 15 April 2006
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
193'459 (56.95%)
Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political Group Candidates Votes %
Solomon Islands Party for Rural Advancement
National party (NP)
Solomon Islands Christian Democratic Party
People's Alliance Party (PAP)
Liberal Party (LP)
Solomon Social Credit Party (Socred)
Lafari Party
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total
Independents 30
Solomon Islands Party for Rural Advancement 4
National party (NP) 4
Solomon Islands Christian Democratic Party 3
People's Alliance Party (PAP) 3
Liberal Party (LP) 2
Solomon Social Credit Party (Socred) 2
Lafari Party 2
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
21 to 30 years
31 to 40 years
41 to 50 years
51 to 60 years
61 to 70 years
Distribution of seats according to profession
Civil/public servants/administrators (including social/development workers) 21
Business/trade/industry employees including executives 11
Educators 7
Bankers (including invest bankers)/accountants 3
Clerical occupations 3
Economists 1
Legal professions 1
Consultants (including real estate agents) 1
Farmers/agricultural workers (including wine growers) 1
Military/police officers 1
- National Parliament (16.11.2006)
- http://www.pmc.gov.sb/
- http://www.pacificmagazine.net/

Copyright 1996-2010 Inter-Parliamentary Union