HOME -> PARLINE -> AZERBAIJAN (Milli Mejlis)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Milli Mejlis (National Assembly)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name (generic / translated) Milli Mejlis / National Assembly
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 1 November 2015
Purpose of elections President Ilham Aliyev's New Azerbaijan Party (Yeni Azerbaijan) retained a clear majority in the 125-member National Assembly in the elections boycotted by the major opposition alliance, the National Council of Democratic Forces (NCDF, see note). Ten other parties - most of which are reportedly loyal to the President - took a total of 11 seats. Azadliq-2015 (Freedom 2015), a seven-party opposition coalition, and two opposition parties represented in the outgoing legislature - Umid (Hope) and Justice - failed to win parliamentary representation. The head of the Azadliq-2015 election campaign, Mr. Panah Huseyn, rejected the election results. The Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE) did not observe the elections, citing government restrictions. Observers from the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE ) stated that despite some shortcomings, the 2015 elections marked a step towards free, fair and democratic elections.

The NCDF was formed ahead of the 2013 presidential elections in which President Aliyev won a third term. It comprised the Musavat, People's Front, Open Society, the Forum of Intellectuals and the El (People) movement. The NCDF nominated Mr. Jamil Hasanli as its joint presidential candidate, pledging to achieve a peaceful transition to democracy. In September 2015, the NCDF announced that it would boycott the elections, stating that the country did not meet the conditions for free and fair elections.
Date of previous elections: 7 November 2010

Timing of election: Upon normal expiry

Expected date of next elections: November 2020

Number of seats at stake: 125 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: 767

Percentage of women candidates: Not available.

Number of parties contesting the election: 22

Number of parties winning seats: 11

Alternation of power: No

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 24 November 2015

Name of the new Speaker: Mr. Ogtay S. Asadov (New Azerbaijan Party, NAP)
Voter turnout
Round no 11 November 2015
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
2'897'188 (55.73%)

Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political Group Candidates Votes %
New Azerbaidjan Party
Civic Solidarity Party (VHP)
Whole Azerbaijan Popular Front Party
Great Establishment Party
Democratic Enlightenment Party
Social Welfare party
Party of National Statehood
Democratic Reform Party
Social Democrats
Civil Union Party
National Revival Movement Party
Motherland party (Ana Vaten)
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total
New Azerbaidjan Party 72
Independents 41
Civic Solidarity Party (VHP) 2
Whole Azerbaijan Popular Front Party 1
Great Establishment Party 1
Democratic Enlightenment Party 1
Social Welfare party 1
Party of National Statehood 1
Democratic Reform Party 1
Social Democrats 1
Civil Union Party 1
National Revival Movement Party 1
Motherland party (Ana Vaten) 1
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
Note on the repeat elections of June 2016
Following the 2015 elections, the Central Election Commission invalidated the election results for Aghdash Constituency No.90.
Fresh elections were held on 18 June 2016. A male candidate from the New Aspiration Party (NAP) was elected and sworn in in July.
The distribution of seats above includes the results of the fresh elections. As at 27 July 2016, there were 21 women out of the full 125 members.

National Assembly (01.12.2015, 08.02.2016, 27.07.2016)
Azeri-Press Agency (APA: http://en.apa.az)
BBC Monitoring

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union