HOME -> PARLINE -> BOTSWANA (National Assembly)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
National Assembly

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name Parliament
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 24 October 2014
Purpose of elections President Seretse Khama Ian Khama's Botswana Democratic Party (BDP) retained its majority, taking 37 of the 57 directly elected seats. Opposition forces won a total of 20 seats. The Umbrella for Democratic Change coalition (UDC, see note) won 17 seats, thereby becoming the largest ever opposition force in parliament. The remaining three seats went to the Botswana Congress Party of Mr. Dumelang Saleshando. In all, 32 new MPs entered parliament.

The BDP - which has ruled the country since independence in 1966 - ran on the government's record, citing better health care programmes and its programme to end poverty by 2016. The UDC campaigned for “a clean and effective government”. It promised to develop the economy and bring greater prosperity.

On 28 October, President Khama was sworn in for a third term, having taken office in 2008 (the constitution limits the presidential term of office to a maximum of ten years). The following day, the newly elected members were sworn in to the National Assembly. On 12 November, it elected Mr. Mokgweetsi Masisi as Vice President.

The Umbrella for Democratic Change coalition comprised the Botswana National Front (BNF, led by Mr. Duma Boko), the Botswana Movement for Democracy (BMD, led by Mr. Nehemiah Modubule) and the Botswana People's Party (BPP, led by Mr. Motlatsi Molapisi).
Date of previous elections: 16 October 2009

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: 29 August 2014

Timing of election: Upon normal expiry

Expected date of next elections: October 2019

Number of seats at stake: 57 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: 192 (175 men, 17 women)

Percentage of women candidates: 8.9%

Number of parties contesting the election: 3 (2 parties and one coalition, which itself comprised three parties)

Number of parties winning seats: 3 (2 parties and one coalition)

Alternation of power: No

Number of parties in government: 1

Names of parties in government: Botswana Democratic Party (BDP)

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 29 October 2014

Name of the new Speaker: Ms. Gladys Kokorwe (BDP)
Voter turnout
Round no 124 October 2014
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
698'419 (84.72%)

Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political Group Candidates Votes %
Botswana Democratic Party (BDP)
Umbrella for Democratic Change (UDC)
Botswana Congress Party (BCP)
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total
Botswana Democratic Party (BDP) 37
Umbrella for Democratic Change (UDC) 17
Botswana Congress Party (BCP) 3
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
National Assembly (03.11.2014, 14.11.2014)

Note on the distribution of seats according to sex:
As at 14 November 2014, there were six women in the National Assembly: Four directly elected members, one indirectly elected member and the Speaker.

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union