HOME -> PARLINE -> KYRGYZSTAN (Jogorku Kenesh)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
Jogorku Kenesh (Supreme Council)

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Electoral system module

Parliament name (generic / translated) Jogorku Kenesh / Supreme Council
Structure of parliament Unicameral
Electoral Law 19 May 1999
Last updated: 20.07.2010
Mode of designation directly elected 120
Constituencies One nationwide constituency for 120 seats
Voting system Proportional: Proportional representation system (party-list system)
No political party can be formed on religious or ethnic grounds, and members of the armed forces, police, and the judiciary are not allowed to join a political party. No party list can comprise more than 70 per cent of candidates from one sex and every fourth candidate on the party list must be of the other sex (Ex. 1. male, 2. male, 3. male and 4. female; or 1. female, 2. female, 3. female and 4. male). In addition, each party list must comprise at least 15 per cent of candidates from other ethnic minorities.
Each voter must vote for a party list. Seats will be distributed to parties in proportion to the percentage of votes they obtain. However, no party may be granted over 65 seats and elected candidates may not join another political party.
Vacancies arising between general elections are filled through "next-in-line" candidates of the same party.
Overseas citizens can vote without restriction.
Voting is not compulsory.
Voter requirements - Kyrgyz citizenship including naturalized citizens
- Age: 18 years old at the time of registration

Disqualification from voting:
- Conviction for treason, crime, bribery, or electoral offence.
Disqualification for any of the reasons cited above remains valid for the term of the sentence.
- Insanity/mental illness, undocumented immigrants.
Eligibility - Kyrgyz citizenship, including naturalized citizens
- Age: 21 years old at the time of registration
- Permanent residence in the country for at least 5 years

- Members of the armed forces
- Members of the police forces
- Holders of judicial offices (judges)
- Imprisonment for any reason
- Conviction for treason, crimes, bribery or electoral offence.
Ineligibility for any of the reasons cited above remains valid for the term of the sentence.
- Insanity/mental illness, guardianship/ward, holders of temporary entry permits, undocumented immigrants, executives and members of the Electoral Commission.
Incompatibilities - Head of State
- Ministers of State
- Holders of public posts
- Holders of judicial offices (judges)
- Civil servants
- Government advisers
- Executives of the Electoral Commission
- Staff member of a public (State) corporation
- Members of the armed forces
- Members of the police forces
- Clergymen
Candidacy requirements - Nomination by at least 5% of the voters in of the constituency concerned
- Submission of candidature at least 40 days prior to polling day
- Candidature can be submitted by political parties without restriction
- The name of substitute member must be submitted simultaneously
- Deposit for political parties: 500,000 soms (approx. US$ 11,000)
- Deposit is reimbursed for parties obtaining at least 5% of the total votes

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union