HOME -> PARLINE -> NAMIBIA (National Assembly)
Print this pagePrint this page
PARLINE database new searchNew search
National Assembly

Compare data for parliamentary chambers in the Last elections module

A historical Archive of past election results for this chamber can be found on a separate page

Parliament name Parliament
Structure of parliament Bicameral
Chamber name National Assembly
Related chamber (for bicameral parliaments) National Council
Dates of election / renewal (from/to) 29 November 2014
Purpose of elections The SWAPO Party, in power since independence in 1990, retained a two-thirds majority, taking 77 of the 96 directly elected seats in the 104-member National Assembly (see note). Nine other parties took the remaining 19 seats. The Democratic Turnhalle Alliance (DTA) led by Mr. McHenry Venaani became the largest opposition force with five seats. Prime Minister Hage Geingob (SWAPO) won the presidential elections, taking 86 percent of the votes. He is due to take office in March 2015, succeeding the outgoing President Hifikepunye Pohamba (SWAPO), who was constitutionally barred from seeking a third term.

During the election campaign, the SWAPO ran on the government's record, citing better infrastructure and primary education. It promised to strengthen the economy and create wealth and jobs for all Namibians. Its presidential candidate Mr. Geingob promised to build 185,000 new homes in the next 18 years. His closest rival in the presidential race, DTA leader Venaani, promised to develop a "stronger, more productive diverse economy with lower taxes".

In accordance with the 2014 constitutional amendments, the statutory number of members of the National Assembly increased from 78 (72 directly elected and six appointed by the President) to 104 (96 directly elected and eight appointed, as specified in Article 46).
Starting from the 2015 renewal, the statutory number of members of the National Council (upper chamber) will also increase, from 26 to 42. The current legislature comprises two members from each of the 13 Regional Councils. The new legislature will comprise three members from each of the 14 Regional Councils (Article 69).
Pursuant to the recommendation of the Fourth Delimitation Commission, the number of regions (and Regional Councils) was increased from 13 to 14. The proclamation of the recommendation was gazetted in August 2013. However, the current legislature does not comprise the representatives from the new region and thus has 26 members from 13 regions.
Date of previous elections: 27 - 28 November 2009

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: 19 March 2015

Timing of election: Upon normal expiry

Expected date of next elections: November 2019

Number of seats at stake: 96 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: 1,139 (623 men, 516 women)

Percentage of women candidates: 45.3%

Number of parties contesting the election: 16

Number of parties winning seats: 10

Alternation of power: No

Number of parties in government: 1

Names of parties in government: SWAPO

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 20 March 2015

Name of the new Speaker: Mr. Peter Katjavivi (SWAPO)
Voter turnout
Round no 129 November 2014
Number of registered electors
Blank or invalid ballot papers
Valid votes
890'738 (71.76%)

Distribution of votes
Round no 1
Political Group Candidates Votes %
Democratic Turnhalle Alliance (DTA)
Rally for Democracy and Progress (RDP)
United Democratic Front (UDF)
National Unity Democratic Organisation (Nudo)
All People's Party (APP)
Workers Revolutionary Party (WRP)
South-West African National Union of Namibia (SWANU)
United People's Movement (UPM)
Radical Party
Distribution of seats
Round no 1
Political Group Total
SWAPO Party 77
Democratic Turnhalle Alliance (DTA) 5
Rally for Democracy and Progress (RDP) 3
United Democratic Front (UDF) 2
National Unity Democratic Organisation (Nudo) 2
All People's Party (APP) 2
Workers Revolutionary Party (WRP) 2
South-West African National Union of Namibia (SWANU) 1
United People's Movement (UPM) 1
Radical Party 1
Distribution of seats according to sex
Percent of women
Distribution of seats according to age
Distribution of seats according to profession
Note on the number of women
Forty women were directly elected while three others were appointed by the President.

National Assembly (02.02.2015, 09.03.2018)

Copyright 1996-2016 Inter-Parliamentary Union